Wyman heads British Cycling team for cyclo-cross world championships
  May 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Wyman heads British Cycling team for cyclo-cross world championships

by VeloNation Press at 5:39 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Cyclocross
Briton in strong form this season

Helen WymanSix-time British champion Helen Wyman will join up with Gabby Day and Nikki Harris as the elite women’s entrants in the upcoming UCI world cyclo cross championships in St. Wendel, Germany. The trio were part of a 13 rider squad which has been named by British Cycling, and which will aim for success in the championship races on January 29-30.

Wyman is clearly in superb condition, having won the Koppenberg Cross, the Fidea Jaarmarktcross and the
Ciclocross del Ponte this season, as well as taking third in the European championships. She has previously clocked up top ten finishes in the cross worlds and will hope to once again ride strongly there.

The men’s elite team will comprise national champion Paul Oldham, Jody Crawforth and Belgium-based Ian Field. The current U23 national champion Luke Gray and Kenta Gallagher will line out in the under 23 race, while the junior entrants are national champion Hugh Robinson, Jack Clarkson, Luke Grivell-Mellor, Joe Moses and Ali Slater.

“This is still very much a developing team but I think we’re capable of some strong performances out in Germany,” said team manager Phil Dixon. “We’re represented by the National Champions in each category, and we’ve got Helen Wyman who’s coming into the competition on the back of the best season she’s ever had.

“We’re also well represented in the Junior category, thanks to the new 2010/11 Junior Development Programme which aimed to help develop talented Junior Cyclo Cross riders. The fact we could select five riders from this group is a testament to the success of the Programme.”


British Cycling team for World cyclo-cross championship. St. Wendel (January 29-30)

Elite Male:

Jody Crawforth
Ian Field
Paul Oldham

Elite Female:

Gabby Day
Nikki Harris
Helen Wyman

U23 Male:

Kenta Gallagher
Luke Gray

Junior Men:

Jack Clarkson
Luke Grivell-Mellor
Joe Moses
Hugo Robinson
Ali Slater


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC