Colavita/Sutter Home announces roster for 2009
  May 26, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, December 26, 2008

Colavita/Sutter Home announces roster for 2009

by VeloNation Press at 7:10 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Colavita/Sutter Home, the #2 men’s team in the US, has re-signed its core squad for the 2009 season and added Aaron Olson, winner of the 2008 Tour de Nez. Director Sportif Sebastian Alexandre made the announcement.

Returning riders include Cuban powerhouse Luis Amaran, Argentinean speedsters Alejandro and Anibal Borrajo and Sebastian Haedo, climbing sensation Anthony Colby, Fitchburg Longsjo champion Kyle Wamsley, and all-arounders Luca Damiani, Davide Frattini, and Tyler Wren.

The signing of Aaron Olson, an experienced all-arounder, represents a reunion with Alexandre and other veteran riders on the squad. Olson raced in Colavita colors in 2004 and 2005 before heading to Europe to ride with Saunier-Duval and T-Mobile. He returned to the domestic peloton last year as a member of the Bissell Pro Cycling Team. Dan Vaillancourt, who raced with Colavita/Sutter Home in 2007 before joining Toshiba last year, is also returning for the 2009 season. Other new signings include Guido Palma from Team Rite Aid and former Saturn Development Team member Timmy Reinhart.

“Our results for 2008 were outstanding,” said Alexandre. “We finished the season with more NRC victories than any other squad and ranked among the top three teams in total stage wins, demonstrating that we have the depth of talent to prevail in the biggest contests in pro cycling. And Sebastian Haedo brought us a Pro Cycling Tour victory with his win at the US Air Force Cycling Classic.”

“Looking ahead, I am very excited about our prospects for 2009,” Alexandre continued. “The trust, communication, and strategy that the riders developed last year gives us the ability to reach for even greater successes.”

2009 roster for the Colavita/Sutter Home Men’s Cycling Team presented by Cooking Light:
Luis Amaran (CUB)
Alejandro Borrajo (ARG)
Anibal Borrajo (ARG)
Anthony Colby (USA)
Luca Damiani (ITA)
Davide Frattini (ITA)
Andy Guptill (USA)
Sebastian Haedo (ARG)
Aaron Olson (USA)
Guido Palma (ARG)
Timmy Reinhart (USA)
Dan Vaillancourt (USA)
Kyle Wamsley (USA)
Tyler Wren (USA)

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC