Seven wildcards confirmed for Tour of Flanders
  May 23, 2019 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Seven wildcards confirmed for Tour of Flanders

by Shane Stokes at 9:19 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour of Flanders
Belgian and French teams field three squads each, Skil Shimano also selected

Fabian CancellaraA total of seven wildcard teams have been confirmed for the Tour of Flanders Classic, which will be disputed in just over one month’s time on April 3rd.

The selections include three Belgian teams, namely Landbouwkrediet, Topsport Vlaanderen – Mercator and Veranda`s Willems – Accent, French squads Cofidis, FDJ and Team Europcar, and the Dutch team Skil-Shimano.

These will join the eighteen UCI ProTeams, which have an automatic right of participation. The squads concerned are Omega Pharma – Lotto, Quick Step, Saxo Bank SunGard, Euskaltel – Euskadi,BMC Racing Team, Garmin-Cervélo, HTC Highroad, RadioShack, Eukaltel Euskadi, Team Movistar, Ag2r La Mondiale, Lampre – ISD, Liquigas – Cannondale, Astana, Leopard Trek, Rabobank, Vacansoleil – DCM, Team Katusha.

Last year’s race was dominated by world time trial champion Fabian Cancellara, who will aim to repeat his win again for the Leopard-Trek team.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC