Sarah Hammer to lead US track team to World Championships
  May 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, March 4, 2011

Sarah Hammer to lead US track team to World Championships

by Ben Atkins at 6:47 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Track, World Championships
World pursuit champion out to defend in Apeldoorn, Netherlands at the end of the month

sarah hammerSarah Hammer (OUCH) is to lead the US track team to the World Championships in Apeldoorn, Netherlands between the 23rd and 27th of this month. The Californian, who is the reigning World individual pursuit champion will be out to defend her title, as well as make an attempt at the team pursuit title; her win at the Manchester World Cup last month also qualify Hammer for the World Championship Omnium.

Joining Hammer in the pursuit team will be sprinter turned endurance rider and former World Keirin champion Jennie Reed, who is also qualified for the scratch race after her performance in Manchester. Lauren Tamayo (Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY 12), Dotsie Bausch and Cari Higgins will also play a part in the team pursuit, with Higgins also riding in the points race.

Men’s sprinters Giddeon Massie (Bike Religion) and Dean Tracy (Rubicon Cycling) both reached the qualifying time standard for the team sprint in Manchester. They will be joined in the event by Michael Blatchford and Kevin Mansker (Momentum Coaching Group), with Massey also riding the sprint.

The single endurance rider in the men’s team will be Bobby Lea (The Sports TEAM), who will be riding both the Omnium and the scratch race.

The women’s team will be heading to Buttegen, Germany next week for a training camp, before joining up with the men in the Netherlands.

US Track Team roster for the World Championships:

Bobby Lea (The Sports TEAM) – omnium, scratch race
Giddeon Massie (Bike Religion) – sprint, team sprint
Michael Blatchford – team sprint
Kevin Mansker (Momentum Coaching Group) – team sprint
Dean Tracy (Rubicon Cycling) – team sprint

Sarah Hammer (OUCH) – omnium, individual pursuit, team pursuit
Lauren Tamayo (Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY 12) – team pursuit
Dotsie Bausch – team pursuit
Jennie Reed – scratch race, team pursuit
Cari Higgins (Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY 12) – points race, team pursuit


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC