Jonathan Hivert takes brilliant victory for Saur-Sojasun team at Klasika Primavera
  December 05, 2021 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Jonathan Hivert takes brilliant victory for Saur-Sojasun team at Klasika Primavera

by Bjorn Haake at 8:12 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Frenchman with second victory of the season

jonathan hivertJonathan Hivert sprinted to victory in the Klasika Primavera, beating Movistar's David López and Saxo Bank-SunGard's Nick Nuyens. The hilly final of the race had several break attempts as a consequence in the active final, with Hivert making his move at the right moment. It was Hivert's second victory of the season, after already prevailing in stage two of the Vuelta a Andalucia.

Despite several attempts from small and large groups to initiate a break, the most interesting news in the first hour of the race was the abandoning of Euskaltel-Euskadi's Egoi Martínez, with just a bit more than 50 kilometers ridden. The average speed in the opening hour was 47 km/h, thanks to the various moves.

The rain started to come down, which finally cooled off the peloton and allowed Alexander Ryabkin (Caja Rural), Mikel Bizkarra (Orbea), Jesús Rosendo (Andalucía Caja Granada) and Ricardo Vilela (Onda) to ride clear at kilometer 85. Within ten kilometers the gap was 3'20, which was the maximum they gained.

The first of three ascents of the Muniketas-Montecalvo (kilometer 106) reduced the gap to just over two minutes and also broke the front group apart. Rosendo and Bizkarra crested the top 35 seconds ahead of Ryabkin and Vilela. On the first time up the Autzagane, Rosendo and Bizkarra were 1'15 ahead of the peloton, which swallowed the other breakaway riders in the descent.

The efforts from Rosendo and Bizkarra were ended by the peloton just before the summit when they climbed up the Muniketas-Montecalvo for the second time. Shortly thereafter, a dangerous five-man break developed, with Pablo Lastras, Amets Txurruka, Marcos García, Sergey Shilov, and Diego Gallego. Shilov was the only one to slip into a subsequent nine-man move, which had 30 seconds 22 kilometers from the line.

Under Movistar's efforts, the break was brought back 12 kilometers from the finish. A solo try by Igor Antón was eliminated as well as a last-minute try by Nick Nuyens. But the furious pace in the end had left only 12 riders left to race for the stage victory.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

Klasika Primavera De Amorebieta, Spain (1.1) Results: Amorebieta to Amorebieta (171.6km)

  Click on the arrowsat the top of the column to sort the race results.
Country Result Name Team Time
fra FRA 1 Jonathan Hivert (Saur-Sojasun) 04:02:15
esp ESP 2 David Lopez Garcia (Movistar) s.t.
bel BEL 3 Nick Nuyens (Saxo Bank-Sungard) s.t.
rus RUS 4 Sergey Chernestskiy () s.t.
esp ESP 5 Victor Cabedo Carda (Orbea - Oreka SDA) s.t.
esp ESP 6 Delio Fernandez Cruz (Onda Boavista) s.t.
esp ESP 7 Amets Txurruka (Euskaltel - Euskadi) s.t.
col COL 8 Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (Cafe De Colombia - Colombia Es Pasion) s.t.
esp ESP 9 Javier Moreno Bazan (Caja Rural) s.t.
col COL 10 Mauricio Alberto Cano Ardila (Geox-TMC Transformers) s.t.
esp ESP 11 Igor Anton Hernandez (Euskaltel - Euskadi) s.t.
col COL 12 Alex Cano Ardila (Cafe De Colombia - Colombia Es Pasion) s.t.
esp ESP 13 Pablo Lastras Garcia (Movistar) s.t.
col COL 14 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Cafe De Colombia - Colombia Es Pasion) s.t.
esp ESP 15 Benat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
fra FRA 16 Ludovic Turpin (Saur-Sojasun) 00:00:12
col COL 17 Giovanni Manuel Baez Alvarez (UNE - EPM) 00:00:50
col COL 18 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Cafe De Colombia - Colombia Es Pasion) s.t.
rus RUS 19 Sergey Shilov () 00:01:05
esp ESP 20 Ricardo Garcia Ambroa (Orbea - Oreka SDA) 00:01:28
rus RUS 21 Sergey Belykh () s.t.
esp ESP 22 Ivan Velasco Murillo (Euskaltel - Euskadi) 00:01:31
esp ESP 23 José Alberto Roman Benitez (Andalucia - Caja Granada) 00:02:11
esp ESP 24 Víctor De La Parte Gonzalez (Caja Rural) s.t.
col COL 25 Victor Hugo Pena (Cafe De Colombia - Colombia Es Pasion) s.t.
esp ESP 26 David Belda (Burgos 2016 - Castilla Y Leon) s.t.
rus RUS 27 Artur Ershov () s.t.
esp ESP 28 Alberto Morras (Onda Boavista) s.t.
rus RUS 29 Alexander Rybakov () s.t.
esp ESP 30 Jose Antonio Carrasco Ramirez (KTM-Murcia) s.t.
URG 31 Fabricio Ferrari (Caja Rural) s.t.
esp ESP 32 Ruben Perez Moreno (Euskaltel - Euskadi) s.t.
esp ESP 33 Jorge Azanza Soto (Euskaltel - Euskadi) s.t.
esp ESP 34 Adrian Saez De Arregi (Orbea - Oreka SDA) s.t.
esp ESP 35 Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Euskaltel - Euskadi) s.t.
esp ESP 36 Diego Gallego Arnaiz (Burgos 2016 - Castilla Y Leon) s.t.
col COL 37 John Edibberto Martinez Montero (Cafe De Colombia - Colombia Es Pasion) s.t.
esp ESP 38 Jose Herrada Lopez (Caja Rural) s.t.
esp ESP 39 Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Movistar) s.t.
esp ESP 40 Antonio Piedra Perez (Andalucia - Caja Granada) s.t.
fra FRA 41 Jérome Coppel (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
fra FRA 42 Fabrice Jeandesboz (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
ven VEN 43 Juan Hernandez () s.t.
col COL 44 Juan Pablo Suarez (UNE - EPM) s.t.
esp ESP 45 Inaki Isasi Flores (Euskaltel - Euskadi) s.t.
aut AUT 46 Matthias Brandle (Geox-TMC Transformers) s.t.
esp ESP 47 Jesús Lopez Herrada (Movistar) s.t.
rus RUS 48 Valery Kaikov () 00:02:56
esp ESP 49 Salvador Guardiola (KTM-Murcia) s.t.
review 50 Héctor De León () s.t.
esp ESP 51 Carlos Verona (Burgos 2016 - Castilla Y Leon) 00:03:41
esp ESP 52 Enrique Sanz Unzue (Movistar) 00:03:56
esp ESP 53 Jose Luis Carmona Roldan (Andalucia - Caja Granada) 00:04:12
esp ESP 54 Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Andalucia - Caja Granada) s.t.
den DEN 55 Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo Bank-Sungard) 00:05:04
col COL 56 Ivan Ramiro Parra (UNE - EPM) s.t.
fra FRA 57 Yannick Talabardon (Saur-Sojasun) 00:05:23
esp ESP 58 Marcos Garcia Fernandez (KTM-Murcia) 00:05:27
esp ESP 59 Jesus Rosendo Prado (Andalucia - Caja Granada) 00:05:43
col COL 60 Carlos Fernando Piamonte Rodriguez (UNE - EPM) 00:06:04
esp ESP 61 Pascual Orengo Lopez (Burgos 2016 - Castilla Y Leon) 00:07:08
esp ESP 62 Manuel Ortega Ocana (Andalucia - Caja Granada) 00:08:09
blr BLR 63 Branislau Samoilau (Movistar) s.t.
esp ESP 64 Javier Benitez Pomarez (KTM-Murcia) s.t.
esp ESP 65 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Movistar) s.t.
col COL 66 Jaime Alberto Castaneda Ortega (UNE - EPM) s.t.
esp ESP 67 Francisco Javier Iriarte Garro (Movistar) s.t.
col COL 68 Camilo Andres Suarez Albarracin (Cafe De Colombia - Colombia Es Pasion) s.t.
den DEN 69 Nicki Sörensen (Saxo Bank-Sungard) s.t.
esp ESP 70 Guillermo Lana Banquedano (Caja Rural) s.t.
esp ESP 71 Hector Gonzalez Baeza (KTM-Murcia) s.t.
esp ESP 72 Mikel Bizkarra (Orbea - Oreka SDA) s.t.
rus RUS 73 Kirill Sveshnikov () s.t.
ukr UKR 74 Oleg Chuzhda (Caja Rural) 00:11:15
por POR 75 Helder Oliveira (Onda Boavista) s.t.
esp ESP 76 David Gutierrez Cataluña () s.t.
ita ITA 77 Marco Corti (Geox-TMC Transformers) s.t.
rus RUS 78 Pavel Karpenkov () s.t.
esp ESP 79 David Bernabeu Armengol (Andalucia - Caja Granada) s.t.
esp ESP 80 Alejandro Manuel Marque Porto (Onda Boavista) s.t.
rus RUS 81 Leonid Krasnov () s.t.
esp ESP 82 Javier Ramirez Abeja (Andalucia - Caja Granada) s.t.
esp ESP 83 Antonio Cabello Baena (Andalucia - Caja Granada) s.t.
esp ESP 84 Noel Martín Infante (Orbea - Oreka SDA) s.t.
esp ESP 85 Adrian Palomares Villaplana (Andalucia - Caja Granada) s.t.
por POR 86 Ricardo Vilela (Onda Boavista) s.t.
rsa RSA 87 Christopher Jennings (Burgos 2016 - Castilla Y Leon) s.t.
esp ESP 88 Benat Urain (Orbea - Oreka SDA) s.t.
esp ESP 89 Aritz Etxebarria (Orbea - Oreka SDA) s.t.

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC