New Year Honors: Hoy Knighthood Heads Cycling Honors
  April 19, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

New Year Honors: Hoy Knighthood Heads Cycling Honors

by VeloNation Press at 10:25 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Track
Chris Hoy has been awarded a knighthood in the 2009 New Year Honours. Eighteen of his GB cycling team-mates have also been honoured. There's also a CBE for British Cycling's Performance Director, David Brailsford and an MBE for long-time servant of the sport, Eddie Wingrave.

Great Britain's Olympic cycling champion Chris Hoy has been awarded a Knighthood in the 2009 New Year Honours List, capping an extraordinary year for the 32-year-old track cyclist from Edinburgh. When he won three gold medals at the Beijing Olympics last summer, Hoy became Scotland's most successful Olympian, the first Briton in 100 years to secure a hat-trick of gold medals in a single Olympic Games, and the most successful Olympic male cyclist of all time.

Eighteen of Hoy's fellow British athletes, who also won medals in cycling during the 2008 Olympic and Paralympic Games, have been honoured in recognition of their achievements. Bradley Wiggins, a double gold medal winner at the Beijing Olympics, and David Brailsford, British Cycling Performance Director, have both been made Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE).

Hoy, who is heading to The Netherlands on Friday to compete in the Rotterdam six-day event, is still getting used to the idea:
'It's incredible and I'm absolutely delighted. I still can't quite believe it to be honest. To be given a Knighthood is an enormous honour and it means so much to me and also to my family. I was stunned when I first found out and the news is still sinking in. I'm not sure if I will ever get used to people calling me Sir Chris!'

He continued: '2008 has been a phenomenal year for British sport and cycling in particular, and it's good to see so many people in the sport being recognised for all their hard work and achievements. This is an amazing way to start the New Year and a tremendous boost for everyone.'
Dave Brailsford added:
'I'm so proud of what everyone in the GB Team has achieved and it is such a privilege to be honoured in this way. 2009 marks 50 years since British Cycling was established and this is a remarkable way to start the organisation's Golden Anniversary year.'
In addition to the Honours for members of the GB Cycling Team, the lifelong contribution to the Sport by Eddie Wingrave was recognised with an MBE. Eddie has made an invaluable contribution to cycle sport in the South East and London through his involvement in promoting and officiating at Herne Hill and Crystal Palace over the past five decades. At an international level he officiated at the 1948 Olympic Games and organised the first Paralympic World Cycling Championship at Crystal Palace in the 1980s.

Peter King, CEO British Cycling, commented:
'On my final day in the office after 12 years, it gives me great pleasure to see so many of British Cycling's members being honoured by the Queen for their achievements in the Beijing Olympic and Paralympic Games, as well as the contribution that our members are making to grass roots sport in the UK. It is a remarkable end to 2008 and in particular to the end of my tenure as CEO. I would like to thank everyone for their support over the past decade, and the contribution all our members have made to all the success we have seen at all levels in 2008.'
Brian Cookson, President British Cycling, said:
'This tops off a terrific year for our sport - achievements right across the spectrum have been astonishing, and it is hugely rewarding to have this recognised at the highest national level. A Knighthood for Chris Hoy is deeply deserved, as are all the other honours received by our Olympic and Paralympic stars. I offer them all my congratulations.'
See below for a full list of Great Britain Cycling Team members honoured in the 2009 New Year List:

Chris Hoy Sir (KBE)
Bradley Wiggins CBE
Victoria Pendleton MBE
Rebecca Romero MBE
Jason Kenny MBE
Jamie Staff MBE
Ed Clancy MBE
Paul Manning MBE
Nicole Cooke MBE
Geraint Thomas MBE
Darren Kenny OBE
Sarah Storey OBE
Aileen McGlynn OBE
Jody Cundy MBE
Barney Storey MBE
David Stone MBE
Anthony Kappes MBE
Mark Bristow MBE
Simon Richardson MBE
Performance Director
David Brailsford CBE

Key to Honours
KBE: Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire
CBE: Commander of the Order of the British Empire
OBE: Officer of the Order of the British Empire
MBE: Member of the Order of the British Empire

For more information on this press release visit British Cycling at


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC