Samuel Sanchez escapes to win Roeselare criterium
  May 23, 2019 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Samuel Sanchez escapes to win Roeselare criterium

by Ben Atkins at 4:57 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Polka-dot jersey gets “revenge” over Philippe Gilbert in post-Tour exhibition race

samuel sanchezSamuel Sanchez (Euskaltel-Euskadi) evened the score in the Belgian post-Tour exhibition criterium races, with victory in the Natourcriteiumvan Roeselare. The polka-dot jersey winner, still wearing the jersey, escaped the rest of the stars in the race escaped Belgian champion Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto), the winner of the previous night’s race in Aalst, and World champion Thor Hushovd (Garmin-Cervélo) on the final lap to win by three seconds.

Gilbert outsprinted Hushovd in the race for second, with Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil-DCM) leading the peloton over three seconds behind them.

"This gives a very nice feeling,” said Sanchez after his victory, according to Sporza. “My next goal is now [la Clásica] San Sebastian on Saturday. Frankly I’m hoping to put in a good performance with the level of the form that I have now.”

The race was run at a high pace, with Gilbert and Sanchez escaping after twenty laps. The field wasn’t keen to let them go just yet though, and pulled them back. There followed attacks from Gianni Meersman (FDJ) and Bart De Clercq (Omega Pharma-Lotto), but the big move from Sanchez, Gilbert and Hushovd was the one that worked.

On the final lap Sanchez escaped his two companions, and rode alone to take the victory.

“Maybe this isn’t good for my condition, but I want to please the fans,” said the Belgian champion.

“I enjoy it,” he explained. “My performance in the Tour de France, and also my national title, has attracted a lot of cycling fans. Young and old: they all want an autograph or a picture with me.”

Result Natourcriteium Roeselare
1. Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
2. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto @ 3s
3. Thor Hushovd (Nor) Garmin-Cervélo
4. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM @ 6s
5. Gianni Meersman (Bel) FDJ
6. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Quick Step
7. Davy Commeyne (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
8. Klaas Lodewyck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
9. Bart De Clercq (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
10. Kurt Hovelynck (Bel) Donckers Koffie-Jelly Belly


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC