Who will lead Française des Jeux in 2009?
  June 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Monday, February 2, 2009

Who will lead Française des Jeux in 2009?

by VeloNation Press at 11:54 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
The French professional team Française des Jeux released its 23-rider roster for the 2009 season in Paris today.

Along with the announcement came the speculation as to who will lead the team in 2009.

Long-time team captain Philippe Gilbert parted ways for Silence-Lotto this year leaving a big question mark in his place.

Last year the team took 22 victories, and director Marc Madiot hopes to increase that number this year without their star rider.

"Those who work and ride well, will be the leaders of the team," explained Madiot, the team's sports director since 1997. "I do not think that we, despite the departure of Gilbert, are weakened compared to last year", stated Madiot, who with his experience will lead the youngest team in the ProTour.

Française des Jeux 23 member roster for 2009:
Sandy Casar (FRA), Sebastien Chavanel (FRA), Mickael Cherel (FRA), Jerome Coppel (FRA), Aurelien Duval (FRA), Remy Di Gregorio (FRA), Arnaud Gerard (FRA), Anthony Geslin (FRA), Frederic Guesdon (FRA), Sebastien Joly (FRA), Matthieu Ladagnous (FRA), Christophe Le Mevel (FRA), Guillaume Levarlet (FRA), Francis Mourey (FRA), Yoann Offredo (FRA), Anthony Roux (FRA), Jeremy Roy (FRA), Benoit Vaugrenard (FRA), Gianni Meersman (BEL), Timothy Gudsell (NZL), Yauheni Hutarovitch (BLR), Wesley Sulzberger (AUS), Jussi Veikkanen (FIN)

Newcomers: Aurelien Duval, Anthony Geslin and Christophe Le Mevel (Fra), Wesley Sulzberger (Aus)

Riders that left the team: Mickaël Delage, Lilian Jégou, Yoann Le Boulanger, Cyrille Monnerais and Christophe Mengin (Fra), Philippe Gilbert, Tom Stubbe and Jelle Vanendert (BEL)

Sports Directors: Marc Madiot, assisted by Martial Gayant, Franck Pineau, Thierry Bricaud and Yvon Madiot.

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC