Leukemans wins Druivenkoers in Belgium again
  May 23, 2019 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Leukemans wins Druivenkoers in Belgium again

by Bjorn Haake at 3:43 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
No sour grapes for Vacansoleil rider for second year running

bjorn leukemansBjörn Leukemans (Vacansoleil) won the Druivenkoers in Overijse, Belgium, ahead of Davy Commeyne (Landbouwkrediet ) and Jurgen Van Goolen (Verandas Willems - Accent). The trio finished two seconds ahead of the peloton,which was led home by Van Goolen's teammate Stefan Van Dijck and Vacansoleil rider Marco Marcato.

Leukemans is on a roll, after having won a stage and the overall of the Tour de Limousin. This boosted his confidence. "And now on to Plouay," he told hln.be. "With this condition I should be able to do something Sunday." He will then travel overseas. "Afterwards there are Montreal and Quebec and the GP de Wallonie," he explained.

Leukemans has a very simple reason to do well currently. "Around this time [Wallonie] I will know if I made the selection for the Worlds team." Leukemans tries to advertise his qualities in the races. "Carlo Bomans knows that he can always count on me."

The Vacansoleil team had prepared everything well for victory. They put Marco Marcato into the ten-man lead group after 100 kilometers. With Wouter Mol already in the group Vacansoleil had good cards to play.

The lead group was shattered until only Marcato, Klaas Lodewyck, Preben Van Hecke and Christopher Stevenson were left over. Twenty kilometers from the line Leukemans used a small climb to move up to the leaders. Leukemans dropped the others, but received company from Van Goolen and Commeyne. The trio never had a big gap, but they pulled it off. Leukemans left no chance to the others in the sprint.


1.         [BEL]           LEUKEMANS Björn         VCD         4h44'05"
2.         [BEL]           COMMEYNE Davy         LAN        
3.         [BEL]           VAN GOOLEN Jurgen         VWA        
4.         [NED]           VAN DIJK Stefan         VWA         02"
5.         [ITA]           MARCATO Marco         VCD         02"
6.         [BEL]           DEHAES Kenny         OLO         02"
7.         [FRA]           BLAIN Alexandre         EDR         02"
8.         [NOR]           HEGREBERG Roy         SPV         02"
9.         [DEN]           JEBJERG Kasper         GLU         02"


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC