Team Sky announces powerful team for Tour of Britain
  June 19, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Team Sky announces powerful team for Tour of Britain

by Ben Atkins at 4:02 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour of Britain
Rapha Condor Sharp names its strongest line up in pursuit of a stage victory

geraint thomasTeam Sky has named its six-man squad for the Tour of Britain, which gets under way in Scotland on September 11th. Although many of the team’s big names are currently riding the Vuelta a España, including British champion Bradley Wiggins and Chris Froome – who currently holds the race lead – Sky has enough stars left to put out what will likely be the strongest outfit in the race.

Sky’s roster for the race will field four British riders, with established stars Geraint Thomas and Ben Swift alongside emerging riders Alex Dowsett and Peter Kennaugh. The team will be completed by Australian’s Mathew Hayman and former three-time World time trial champion Michael Rogers.

"The announcement of such a strong Team Sky line-up clearly sends a message that the team is serious about winning The Tour of Britain and pulling on the IG Markets Gold Jersey," said Race Director Mick Bennett.

"In Geraint, Ben, Alex and Peter they have four of the finest British cyclists currently racing, all of whom are more than capable of winning The Tour of Britain.”

As well as Team Sky, Rapha Condor Sharp – one of the strongest domestic teams – has also named its six riders, whose main aim will be to become the first home-based team to take a stage victory in the race.

"Rapha Condor Sharp also look to have a strong line-up,” said Bennett, “with which they will be hoping to become the first domestic British trade team to win a stage of The Tour of Britain."

Team Sky for the Tour of Britain
Alex Dowsett, Mathew Hayman, Peter Kennaugh, Michael Rogers, Ben Swift ad Geraint Thomas

Rapha Condor Sharp for the Tour of Britain
Ed Clancy, Dan Craven, Zak Dempster, Kristian House, Jonathan Tiernan-Locke and Andy Tennant


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC