Canadian line-up announced for upcoming Tour de L’Avenir
  June 21, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Canadian line-up announced for upcoming Tour de L’Avenir

by VeloNation Press at 8:54 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, World Championships
Six riders selected, including 2010 world championship bronze medallist Boivin

Guillaume BoivinFour days before the start of the 2011 Tour de l’Avenir, six riders are currently making their final preparations prior to lining out as part of the Canadian national team.

The sextet has been announced by the Canadian Cycling Association, and will get its campaign underway on Sunday. Those selected include Team SpiderTech riders Hugo Houle, the under 23 Canadian time trial and road race champion, plus Guillaume Boivin, who finished an excellent third in last year’s world under 23 road race [right], an official dead heat with Taylor Phinney (USA).

Both are with Steve Bauer’s SpiderTech powered by C10, as is David Boily. Of the other three, Antoine Duchesne and Jamie Riggs compete with the Garneau Club Chaussures – Norton Rose team.

The final squad member is Pierrick Naud, who is currently with Rocky Mountain – Desjardins Valeurs Mobilieres.

The race forms part of the UCI Under 23 Nations’ Cup tour, being the sixth and final event. It is a week long and covers 1201 kilometres. It begins with a prologue in Yutz.

Canada is 21st in the overall standings; France is well clear at the top.


Canadian team for Tour de l’Avenir:

David BOILY (Québec, QC) [Team SpiderTech powered by C10]
Guillaume BOIVIN (Longueuil, QC) [Team SpiderTech powered by C10]
Antoine DUCHESNE (Chicoutimi, QC) [Garneau-Club Chaussures-Norton Rose]
Hugo HOULE (Ste-Perpétue, QC) [Team SpiderTech powered by C10]
Pierrick NAUD (Amos, QC) [Rocky Mountain - Desjardins Valeurs Mobilières]
Jamie RIGGS (Manotick, ON) [Garneau-Club Chaussures-Norton Rose]


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC