Danish team for world championships announced after Rasmussen’s suspension
  June 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Danish team for world championships announced after Rasmussen’s suspension

by Xylon van Eyck at 9:59 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, World Championships
Fuglsang to take part in road and time trial event

Jakob FuglsangFollowing its announcement today that it has suspended Alex Rasmussen for missing three doping controls the past eighteen months, the Danish Cycling Union has made public its team for the world road race championships. The organisation will be hosting the event later this month in the Danish capital, Copenhagen and was only expected to make the final team announcement on Friday. However, the announcement was moved forward after Rasmussen’s exclusion as the good sprinter and time trial specialist was to play a key role.

Team Saxo Bank-SunGard riders Michael Morkov, Nicki Sørensen and Chris Anker Sørensen, who recently completed the Vuelta in twelfth place, have all been included in the line up. They’ll be joined by Jakob Fuglsang, Anders Lund (both Leopard Trek) and Lars Bak (HTC High Road).

Fuglsang and Morkov will also ride the individual time trial. Jonas Aaen from Team Saxo Bank-SunGard was named on the reserve list for the road team.

With Rasmussen’s exclusion, it is unclear who will be the leader in the team should the race come down to a bunch sprint. Matti Breschel’s (Rabobank) was to be an important element in the make up of the team but the 27 year old has failed to recover in time from a crash at the Vuelta a España.

The Danish Cycling Union has expressed Breschel’s disappointment in missing the race on home soil. The worst finish for the Dane in the championships the past three years was seventh in 2009. Last year he was runner up to Thor Hushovd (Norway) while he won the bronze medal in Varese in 2008.

Danish team for World Championships:

Michael Mørkøv (Team Saxo Bank-SunGard)
Chris Anker Sørensen (Team Saxo Bank-Sungard)
Nicki Sørensen (Team Saxo Bank-Sungard)
Jakob Fuglsang (Leopard-Trek)
Anders Lund (Leopard-Trek)
Lars Bak (Team HTC-Highroad)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC