Women’s team news: Project 1t4i, Rabobank and Hitec Products-UCK add to 2012 rosters
  May 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Women’s team news: Project 1t4i, Rabobank and Hitec Products-UCK add to 2012 rosters

by Ben Atkins at 2:32 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Female peloton begins to take shape for next season

adrie visserSkil-1t4i steps up to UCI status

Having already made a commitment to continuing its women’s programme, Project 1t4i (currently Skil-Shimano) will step the team up to UCI status next year. The team, which is currently called Skil-Koga, currently rides on a European license, but the increased status will make it eligible for World Cup races.

While the men’s team will end its long association with Skil, the power tool manufacturer signed a separate two-year deal with the women’s set up this year. Consequently, the team will be known as Skil-1t4i in 2012, with it switching to the as-yet-unnamed title sponsor of the men’s team from 2013.

The core of the current Skil-Koga team will be retained, consisting of Regina Bruins, Amy Pieters, Esra Tromp, Suzanne de Goede, Anne de Wildt and Linda van Rijen. In addition to these six, the team will take on Adrie Visser (pictured), who has been with HTC-Highroad for two years, Monique van de Ree from AA-Drink, Janneke Kanis from Nederland Bloeit, and stagiaire Kelly Markus, who finished ninth in the junior World championship road race.

Skil-1t4i 2012 roster:
Regina Bruins, Suzanne de Goede, Anne de Wildt, Janneke Kanis, Kelly Markus, Amy Pieters, Esra Tromp, Monique van de Ree, Linda van Rijen, Adrie Visser

Rabobank adds youth and experience

Although it was originally expected that Rabobank would simply take over World number one Marianne Vos’ Nederland Bloeit team, the new Dutch team is recruiting youth and experience from elsewhere.

Roxane Knetemann, the 24-year-old daughter of the late former-World champion Gerrie Knetemann, will join the team, along with 21-year-old Australian Lauren Kitchen, 17-year-old Rebecca Talen, who animated the junior World championship road race, and former Belgian champion Liesbet De Vocht, who rode with Vos’ team in 2009 and 2010.

The new signings take Rabobank to eight riders so far, with Vos, World Cup winner Annemiek van Vleuten, German rouleur Sarah Düster and Dutch junior Thalita de Jong.

Rabobank 2012 roster so far
Thalita de Jong, Liesbet De Vocht, Sarah Düster, Lauren Kitchen, Roxane Knetemann, Rebecca Talen, Annemiek van Vleuten and Marianne Vos

Hitec Products-UCK goes more international in 2012

As Marianne Vos’ 2012 team takes shape, big rival Emma Johansson’s has already been finalised, with Hitec Products-UCK going even more international. The Norwegian team, which was almost entirely Scandinavian in 2011, has already announced the recruitment of Elisa “Lambo” Longo Borghini, but also adds Polish Giro d’Italia star Sylwia Kaupsta and French champion Christel Ferrier-Bruneau from Gauss, and 2011 Norwegian guest rider Thea Thorson.

Hitec Products-UCK 2012 roster
Johanne Bergseth, Christel Ferrier Bruneau, Tone Hatteland, Cecilie Johansen, Emma Johansson, Sylwia Kapusta, Elisa Longo Borghini, Emilie Moberg, Sara Mustonen, Lise Nøstvold, Thea Thorsen, Marie Voreland and Frøydis Waersted


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC