Eleven ProTeams listed amongst sixteen squads for Tour of Qatar
  April 03, 2020 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, January 20, 2012

Eleven ProTeams listed amongst sixteen squads for Tour of Qatar

by Shane Stokes at 1:02 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour of Qatar
Teams and stages confirmed for ASO’s early-season opener

Tour of QatarWith just over a fortnight to go until the start of the 2012 Tour of Qatar, race organisers ASO have finally issued the team lineup for this year’s race. A total of eleven UCI ProTeams will compete there, along with three Pro Continental teams and two Continental squads.

The list of top level teams comprises the BMC Racing Team, FDJ-BigMat, Garmin-Barracuda, GreenEdge, Katusha, Liquigas-Cannondale, Lotto-Belisol, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, Rabobank, Radioshack-Nissan and Sky Pro Cycling squads.

They are joined by the Pro Conti setups Project 1T4i, Farnese Vini Selle Italia and Champion System, as well as Asian Continental teams Bridgestone Anchor and RTS Racing.

Each of the sixteen teams will feature eight riders, making for a total peloton size of just 128 competitors. That small peloton plus the high winds which can hit the bunch in the flat, sandy country means that the race can be a hard one to defend, and also a place where riders can be easily caught out and find themselves exposed and out the back.

The race will take place from February 5th to 10th, and begins with a 142.5 kilometre stage fro Barzan Towers to Doha golf club. The normal pattern of fast, flat stages is broken by a new team time trial, which will cover 11.3 kilometres on the Lusail motor racing circuit, and which should favour a number of squads including the Tour de France stage winners Garmin-Barracuda, Rabobank, RadioShack Nissan, Sky Procycling and Omega Pharma Quick Step.

HTC Highroad took the title last year with Mark Renshaw.

The race will be followed by the Tour of Oman, which normally features a very similar peloton.

Tour of Qatar 2012 (2.HC):

UCI ProTeams:

BMC Racing Team (USA)
FDJ-BigMat (FRA)
Garmin-Barracuda (USA)
Greenedge Cycling Team (AUS)
Katusha Team (RUS)
Liquigas-Cannondale (ITA)
Lotto-Belisol Team (BEL)
Omega Pharma-Quick Step Cycling Team (BEL)
Rabobank (NED)
Radioshack-Nissan (USA)
Sky Pro Cycling (GBR)

Pro Continental teams:

Champion System (CHN)
Farnese Vini – Selle Italia (GBR)
Project 1t4i (NED)

Continental teams:

Bridgestone Anchor Pro Cycling Team (JPN)*
RTS Racing team (TPE)


Stage 1, Sunday 5th February: Barzan Towers – Doha Golf Club (142.5 km)
Stage 2, Monday 6th February: Lusail Circuit (team time-trial 11.3 km)
Stage 3, Tuesday 7th February: Dukhan – Al Gharafa Stadium (146.5 km)
Stage 4, Wednesday 8th February: Al Thakhira – Madinat Al Shamal (144 km)
Stage 5, Thursday 9th February: Camel Race Track – Al Khor Corniche (160 km)
Stage 6, Friday 10th February: Sealine Beach Resort – Doha Corniche (120 km)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC