Impressive Australian lineup named for world track championshps
  July 25, 2021 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Impressive Australian lineup named for world track championshps

by Shane Stokes at 12:34 AM EST   comments
Categories: Track, World Championships
Cyclones squad listed prior to next month’s Melbourne clash

Jack BobridgePrior to what will be the final major international meet prior to the Olympics Games, Cycling Australia has announced an impressive lineup for the world track championships, which will be held from April 4th to 8th.

A total of nineteen riders have been named today to the Cyclones squad, with the final team to be whittled down to eighteen prior to the race start. Of those, eight are defending champions, with the rest aiming to take their first gold medals in Melbourne during the five days of competition.

One of the most likely to win gold is Anna Meares, the 2004 Olympic champion. She took world titles in the 500 metre TT in 2004 and 2007, and last year won the sprint and keirin crowns.

Meares also took her third consecutive team sprint title with Kaarle McCulloch, who has also been named to the team and will also ride the sprint events.

Also set to compete is GreenEdge rider Cameron Meyer, who finished third in the final time trial and tenth overall in Tirreno Adriatico. He and Leigh Howard will aim to successfully defend their Madison crown, while Meyer wants to retake the points race title he held in 2009 and 2010.

Six others have been named for five slots; Jack Bobridge (pictured), Rohan Dennis, Michael Hepburn, Alexander Edmondson, Glenn O'Shea and Mitchell Mulhern. Bobridge broke Chris Boardman’s individual pursuit record in February 2011, setting a time of 4.10.534, and last year took gold in the event at the track worlds. He also took the team pursuit title with Denis, Hepburn and Luke Durbridge.

Although he crashed hard during the national time trial championships in January, Bobridge got a morale boost last month when he, Dennis, Hepburn and Edmondson won the team pursuit at the London World Cup. In doing so, they set the third fastest time in history.

O’Shea and Mulhern are also vying for a slot on the team pursuit squad, with the final decision to be made with the next two and a half weeks.

The men’s team will include last year’s keirin world champion Shane Perkins, who will compete alongside Scott Sunderland and Matthew Glaetzer in the team sprint. In November’s opening round of the World Cup in Astana, Kazakhstan, the trio set an Australian record, while in last month's London round, 19 year old Glaetzer rode the fastest last lap of the competition.

Perkins, Sunderland and Glaetzer are also set to ride the keirin and sprint. Australian champion James Glasspool will race the kilometre time trial in his first senior world championships team.

Melissa Hoskins, who won the scratch race in London, has been confirmed for Melbourne, as have 2010 team pursuit gold medallists Ashlee Ankudinoff and Josephine Tomic, plus Amy Cure and Annette Edmondson.

The latter three clocked up an Australian record en route to team pursuit bronze medal in the London World Cup.

Cycling Australia National Performance Director Kevin Tabotta is feeling upbeat about their chances.

“Preparations have been going well and everyone has been working hard to be in top form for the championships," he stated. “This is a rare opportunity for the team to race at the very highest level in front of a home crowd with family and friends in the stands to support them.

"To claim the rainbow jersey of world champion is a very special honour but the most important thing is for each and every member of the team to deliver their very. I'm confident that will be the case in Melbourne."

Cyclones selection for the 2012 UCI Track World Championships:

Sprint Group

The eight sprint events are team sprint, sprint, keirin and time trial for both men and women.

Kaarle MCCULLOCH (Gymea Bay, NSW 20.01.1988) 2011 team sprint world champion
Anna MEARES (West Richmond, SA [formerly QLD] 21.09.1983) 2011 team sprint, sprint and keirin world champion

Matthew GLAETZER (Paradise, SA, 24.08.1992)
James GLASSPOOL (Fairview Park, SA 08.06.1991)
Shane PERKINS (Clayton South, VIC 30.12.1986) 2011 keirin world champion
Scott SUNDERLAND (Waneroo, WA 16.03.1988)

Endurance Group

The eleven endurance events are men's and women's team pursuit, individual pursuit, scratch race, points race and omnium plus the Madison for men.

Ashlee ANKUDINOFF (Menai, NSW, 20.08.1990)
Amy CURE (Penguin, TAS 31.12.1992)
Annette EDMONDSON (Stirling, SA, 12.12.1991)
Melissa HOSKINS (Lesmurdie, WA, 24.02.1991)
Josephine TOMIC (Perth, WA, 09.06.1989)

Jack BOBRIDGE (Evanston Park, SA, 13.07.1989) * 2011 individual and team pursuit world champion
Rohan DENNIS (Vale Park, SA 28.05.1990) * 2011 team pursuit world champion
Alexander EDMONDSON (Stirling, SA 22.12.1993) *
Michael HEPBURN (Brookfield, QLD 17.08.1991) * 2011 team pursuit world champion
Leigh HOWARD (Waurn Ponds, VIC, 18.10.1989) 2011 Madison world champion
Cameron MEYER (Helena Valley, WA 11.01.1988) 2011 Madison world champion
Mitchell MULHERN (Carseldine, QLD 22.01.1991) *
Glenn O'SHEA (Ridleyton, SA [formerly VIC] 14.06.1989)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC