More bad luck for Cummings with confirmation of second fractures this season
  April 20, 2024 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, April 13, 2012

More bad luck for Cummings with confirmation of second fractures this season

by VeloNation Press at 4:59 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Spring Classics, Amstel Gold Race, Injury
BMC Racing Team lineup for Amstel Gold to include Evans and Gilbert

Steve CummingsHaving recently returned to racing after a painful pelvic fracture suffered on stage three of the Volta ao Algarve in February, BMC Racing Team rider Steve Cummings has once again been sidelined due to further breakages.

The Briton started competing again on February second; unfortunately he crashed on a wet stage of the Vuelta al Pais Vasco four days later, and damaged his wrist.

The team confirmed the seriousness of that injury today, saying that he was unable to take part in Sunday’s Amstel Gold Race.

"There may be two fractures of different bones," said chief medical officer Max Testa. "For now, one fracture is confirmed and an additional X-ray is being done to determine how long he is out. We do know he'll start training with a cast on it in the next five days."

The news is a blow to Cummings, who moved from the Sky Procycling team over the winter and was keen to race well for the American WorldTour squad.

He has no choice other than to step back once again, although the nature of the injury means that he won’t be off the bike for as long as he was with his pelvic fracture.

The team’s lineup for Sunday’s race has been confirmed. The selection will include Tour de France champion Cadel Evans, last year’s race winner Philippe Gilbert and Greg Van Avermaet. The trio will have leadership roles, although Evans plays down his own chances and Gilbert states that he hasn’t yet reached form.

Swiss riders Martin Kohler and Michael Schär, the Belgian Klaas Lodewyck and the Italian Mauro Santambrogio will also take part.

BMC Racing Team for Amstel Gold Race (April 15):

Cadel Evans (AUS), Philippe Gilbert (BEL), Martin Kohler (SUI), Klaas Lodewyck (BEL), Manuel Quinziato (ITA), Mauro Santambrogio (ITA), Michael Schär (SUI), Greg Van Avermaet (BEL).


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC