Great Britain announces long list for London Olympic Games road races
  April 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Great Britain announces long list for London Olympic Games road races

by Ben Atkins at 9:21 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Olympics
David Millar named in eight-man pre-selection; track, mountainbike and BMX teams announced by host nation

mark cavendishBritish Cycling has announced the long list of riders that will represent Great Britain in the forthcoming Olympic Games in London. Both men’s and women’s team have qualified the maximum number of five and four riders respectively, which will be selected from a list of eight men and six women. With the road races - which will finish in the Mall, in front of Buckingham Palace - likely to finish in sprints, men’s World champion Mark Cavendish (Team Sky), and women’s national champion Lizzie Armitstead (AA are almost certain to lead the teams, but the remaining riders will be selected at a later date.

“We have selected what I believe to be an excellent team going into an Olympic Games and we have a good mix of experienced Olympians alongside young riders who are making their Olympic debut,” said British Cycling’s performance director - and Team Sky principal - Dave Brailsford.

“We still have some decisions to make, for example the road teams will be refined in due course and who will ride what event on the track will be determined nearer the time. Overall though, the GB Cycling Team has had a strong season across all the disciplines and we are ready to step up again at the Olympics.”

Having recently announced that he wanted to be part of the team - following the lifting of the British Olympic Association (BOA) life ban on former dopers - David Millar (Garmin-Barracuda) makes the list, which - unsurprisingly - is made up almost entirely of Team Sky riders. The only other rider not from the black, white and blue team, is BMC Racing’s Steve Cummings, who was with the team between 2009 and 2010.

Cavendish’s usual lead out this season has been Geraint Thomas but, as expected, the Welshman does not make the road team as he is concentrating fully on defending Great Britain’s Team Pursuit title. Lead out duties might well be performed by fellow sprinter Ben Swift.

In the women’s team, the decision has yet to be made regarding the selection of reigning champion Nicole Cooke (Faren-Honda). The Welshwoman’s very public spat following last year’s World championships, as well as her poor form in recent years in comparison to 2008, has led to speculation that she may not be given the opportunity to defend her title in London.

Cooke’s name makes the list however, which is dominated by riders from AA

Both men’s and women’s teams have qualified for two places in the time trial, which International Cycling Union (UCI) regulations state must be selected from the road team. Men’s silver medallist Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) and women’s bronze medallist Emma Pooley (AA - who also took the silver medal in Beijing 2008 - will almost certainly take one place each, with the others to be decided.

Great Britain pre-selection for Olympic Games road races

Men (five to be selected)
Mark Cavendish (Team Sky)
Steve Cummings (BMC Racing Team)
Chris Froome (Team Sky)
Jeremy Hunt (Team Sky)
David Millar (Garmin-Barracuda)
Ian Stannard (Team Sky)
Ben Swift (Team Sky)
Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky)

Women (four to be selected)
Lizzie Armitstead (AA
Nicole Cooke (Faren-Honda)
Katie Colclough (Specialized-lululemon)
Sharon Laws (AA
Lucy Martin (AA
Emma Pooley (AA

Track, mountainbike and BMX selections made

chris hoyWhile the final selection for the road events has yet to be announced, Great Britain has decided upon the names of riders that will compete in the other cycling disciplines. There are few surprises in the Sprint disciplines, with three-time Beijing champion Sir Chris Hoy leading a three-man team with Jason Kenny and 20-year-old Philip Hindes. Beijing sprint champion Victoria Pendleton will be joined in the Team Sprint by Jess Varnish; which specific riders that will compete in the individual Sprint and Keirin events has yet to be announced.

The endurance squads are based on the four-man, and three-woman Team Pursuit, with five and four riders named respectively, since riders are often substituted after the qualification rounds. Thomas is joined by Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Peter Kennaugh and Andy Tennant as the team seeks to repeat its 2008 results by adding Olympic gold to its World championship rainbow.

The women’s team is also World champion, and will be one of the big favourites to take the first ever Olympic Team Pursuit title. The same four riders from the Melbourne championships will be used, in the form of Wendy Houvenaghel, Dani King, Joanna Rowsell, and Laura Trott.

While there has not been an announcement over the riders to compete in the Omnium, it is almost certain that World champion Trott will riding the women’s event, while former World champion Clancy is the most likely for the men’s spot.

Great Britain has also selected one rider each for the men’s and women’s mountainbike and BMX races. Former Commonwealth champion Liam Killeen and World silver medallist Annie Last will ride the mountainbike race, while Liam Phillips and multiple World champion Shanaze Reade will ride the BMX race, where Reade will hope to erase the memories of her crash in the Beijing final four years ago.

Great Britain riders selected for track, mountainbike and BMX

Track (Sprint)
Philip Hindes
Chris Hoy 
Jason Kenny 
Victoria Pendleton 
Jessica Varnish 

Track (Endurance)
Steven Burke 
Edward Clancy 
Wendy Houvenaghel 
Peter Kennaugh 
Danielle King 
Joanna Rowsell
Andrew Tennant 
Geraint Thomas 
Laura Trott 

Liam Phillips 
Shanaze Reade

Cross Country Mountain Biking
Liam Killeen 
Annie Last


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC