Sulzberger called up to replace Michael Rogers in Australian squad for Elite road race
  July 14, 2024 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Sulzberger called up to replace Michael Rogers in Australian squad for Elite road race

by VeloNation Press at 1:07 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, World Championships
Orica GreenEdge rider edges out Tour of Britain runner up Haas

Wesley SulzbergerAlthough Nathan Haas has shown better recent form with second in the Tour of Britain last Sunday, Cycling Australia has instead opted for Wesley Sulzberger for the Elite road race championships. The Orica GreenEdge rider got the nod ahead of Garmin-Sharp’s Haas, and will stand in for an ill Michael Rogers.

Sulzberger had previously competed in three worlds, netting silver in the under 23 race in 2007 and helping Cadel Evans to the Elite title two years later. According to Cycling Australia National Performance Director Kevin Tabotta, this background is what secured his selection.

“We needed to bring in someone who we know has the experience and current form to provide the support needed for team plan," he said. "Wes has world championship and big race experience and we're confident he will provide solid back up for the team leaders in their pursuit of a podium result."

Rodgers had aimed to compete in what would have been his twelfth successive Elite worlds, and sixteenth in all. He started with junior participations in 1997 and 1998, then under 23 entries before graduating to the Elite races in 2001.

He won the world time trial title in 2003, 2004 and 2005. He has been in strong form this year but tonsillitis led to his withdrawal.

“It's always a blow to lose a rider of the calibre of Michael Rogers from a national team,” said Tabotta. “Michael adds so much value physically and tactically to our worlds teams.

“This season has been one of his best and his experience will be missed on Sunday.”

Sulzberger will join Simon Gerrans, Richie Porte, Michael Matthews, Heinrich Haussler, Simon Clarke, Allan Davis, Adam Hansen and David Tanner on the nine-man squad for Sunday’s race.


Cyclones Team for the 2012 UCI Road World Championships:

(RR = road race, TT = time trial)

Elite Men

Simon CLARKE (Selby, VIC 18.07.1986 / Orica-GreenEDGE) RR
Allan DAVIS (Bundaberg, QLD - 27.07.80 / Orica-GreenEDGE) RR
Luke DURBRIDGE (Bassendean, WA 09.04.1991 / Orica-GreenEDGE) TT
Simon GERRANS (Jamieson, VIC 16.05.1980 / Orica-GreenEDGE) RR
Adam HANSEN (Edmonton, QLD 11.05.1981 / Lotto-Belisol) RR
Heinrich HAUSSLER (Inverell, NSW 25.02.1984 / Garmin Sharp) RR
Michael MATTHEWS (Farrer, ACT 26.09.1990 / Rabobank) RR
Cameron MEYER (Helena Valley, WA 11.01.1988 / Orica-GreenEDGE) TT
Richie PORTE (Hadspen, TAS 30.01.1985 / Team Sky) RR
Wesley SULZBERGER (Flowery Gully, TAS 20.10.1986 / Orica-GreenEDGE) RR **
David TANNER (Williamstown, VIC 30.09.1984 / Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank) RR

(** selected 18 September as replacement for Michael ROGERS who withdrew due to illness)

Elite Women

Tiffany CROMWELL (Upper Sturt, SA 06.07.1988 / Orica-AIS) RR
Gracie ELVIN (Yarralumla, ACT 31.10.1988 / Team Jayco-AIS) (Oceania RR Champion) RR
Shara GILLOW - (Belli Park, QLD 23.12.1987 / Orica-AIS) (Oceania TT Champion) RR & TT
Jessie MACLEAN (Campbell, ACT 17.10.1985 / Team Jayco-AIS) RR
Rachel NEYLAN (Adelaide, SA 09.03.1982 ABUS Nutrixxion) RR
Loren ROWNEY (Molendinar, QLD 14.10.1988 / Specialized-lululemon) RR
Amanda SPRATT (Springwood, NSW 17.09.1987 / Orica-AIS) RR

U23 Men

Nick AITKEN (Wonthaggi, VIC 01.01.1990 / Team Jayco AIS) (Oceania RR Champion) RR
Rohan DENNIS (Vale Park, SA 28.05.1990 / Team Jayco AIS) RR, TT
Michael FREIBERG (Dianella, WA 10.10.1990 / Team Jayco AIS) RR
Damien HOWSON ( Greenwith, SA 13.08.1992 / Team Jayco AIS) (Oceania TT Champion) RR, TT
Jay McCARTHY (Coorparoo, QLD 08.09.1992 / Team Jayco AIS) RR
Adam PHELAN (Isabella Plains, ACT 23.08.1991 / Drapac Profesional Cycling) RR

Junior Women

Georgia BAKER (Perth, TAS 21.09.1994) Junior Australian champion criterium RR, TT
Jessica MUNDY (Ashton SA, 25.09.1994) RR
Allison RICE (Ainslie ACT, 24.03.1994) Junior Oceania Champion time trial RR, TT
Emily ROPER (Elanora, QLD 24.07.1994) Junior Australian champion time trial & road race RR, TT

Junior Men

Caleb EWAN (Bowral, NSW 11.07.1994) Junior Australian champion time trial (RR)
Bradley LINFIELD (Dalyellup WA, 29.06.1994) RR
Robert-Jon McCARTHY (Glenelg, SA, 30.03.1994) Junior Australian champion road race (RR)
Alex MORGAN (Mitcham, VIC 18.07.1994) Junior Australian champion criterium & junior Oceania champion time trial (TT)
Nicholas SCHULTZ (Arana Hills QLD, 13.09.1994) (RR)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC