bpost bank new name sponsor for GvA Trofee cyclocross series
  March 01, 2021 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

bpost bank new name sponsor for GvA Trofee cyclocross series

by Ben Atkins at 2:00 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Cyclocross
Ranking to be decided by an overall time classification rather than traditional points-based system

sven nysHaving been known as the GvA Trofee - after its founder, the Gazet van Antwerpen - since its inception 25 years ago, the eight race cyclocross series will now become known as the bpost bank trofee as the Belgian bank steps in as principle sponsor. Unsurprisingly, Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet-Euphony) has won most editions of the series, with victory eight of the 25 editions, but last season’s was won by Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Revor).

"Cyclocross is a sport that really is tailor-made for bpost bank," said the bank’s marketing and sales director Frédéric Jonnart. “Not surprising really, if you know that the three values of bpost bank are also in cyclocross: simple, sure and for everyone.

“Cyclocross is the main winter sport in Flanders,” he added. “A sport of the people, and accessible for everyone. The bpost bank trofee is therefore the ideal sports event to link our name to.”

Established in 1987, the GvA Trofee has become one of the big three season-long classifications in cyclocross which, along with the Superprestige and World Cup series, make up the sport’s “Grand Slam.” Unlike those other two however, the GvA’s events all take place in Belgium, although in recent years some have moved beyond the limits of the Antwerp province to which its sponsor served.

"bpost bank is a new major sponsor in cyclocross, but no stranger to us,” explained Christophe Impens, managing director of event organiser Golazo sports. “We have already had a few years of pleasant cooperation with them with, among other things, the bpost bank cycling tour.

“We also look forward to what the new rankings, based on time, will bring,” he added. “An initiative of triple cyclocross World champion and colleague Erwin Vervecken. The expectations are high.”

This change in ranking will go against most other racing series, where points are awarded for finishing positions in each event, and accumulated over time. From the 2012/13 series the ranking system for the overall Trofee will be based on each riders’ time on the finish line, much like the general classification of a stage race.

Presumably, to qualify for the overall rankings, a rider will have to compete in every race, but under the existing points-based system this was already the case for those hoping to win anyway. Riders expected to be ever present this season include: World champion Niels Albert and teammate Radomir Simunek(both BKCP-Powerplus), Belgian champion Nys, Pauwels and Klaas Vantornout (both Sunweb-Revor), Tom Meeusen, Rob Peeters and Bart Wellens (all Telenet-Fidea), Simon Zahner (BMC Racing), and Thijs Van Amerongen (AA Drink-Leontien.nl).

2012/13 bpost bank trofee events
14 Oct 2012: GP Mario De Clercq (Kluisbergen)
01 Nov 2012: Koppenbergcross (Oudenaarde)
17 Nov 2012: GP Hasselt
22 Dec 2012: GP Rouwmoer (Essen)
28 Dec 2012: Azencross (Loenhout)
01 Jan 2013: GP Sven Nys (Baal)
09 Feb 2013: Krawatencross (Lille)
24 Feb 2013: Internationale Sluitingsprijs (Oostmalle)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC