Voeckler and Longo win Climbers' Trophies
  June 19, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, May 3, 2009

Voeckler and Longo win Climbers' Trophies

by VeloNation Press at 2:45 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results
Thomas Voeckler (Bouygues Telecom) won the Trophée des Grimpeurs today marking a return to form after a bad collarbone break in Paris-Nice.

The Frenchman attacked 30-kilometers from the finish and was able to hold onto his lead by just on 20 seconds as he crossed the line in Argenteuil for a solo victory.

Compatriots Anthony Geslin (Française des Jeux) and Nicolas Jalabert (Agritubel) rounded out the podium finishing second and third respectively.

Voeckler follows another French rider David Lelay, who won the event last year. The biggest news for Voeckler is that his form is back, and today will give him confidence going into the 100th edition of the Giro d'Italia next weekend.

Results for the men's 2009 Trophée des Grimpeurs:

1. Thomas Voeckler (BBox Bouygues Telecom) in 3:03:41
2. Anthony Geslin (Française Des Jeux), at 0:20
3. Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Agritubel, Same Time
4. Dimitri Champion (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller, Same Time
5. Luis Felipe Laverde (Col) Colombia Es Pasion Coldeportes, Same Time

In the women's race, French champion Jeannie Longo (ASPSA) took home the Climbers' Trophy for the fifth time at the age of 50.

Longo finished 53 seconds ahead of her teammate Edwige Pitel with Karine Gautard (Futuroscope) taking third 12 seconds later.

Results for the women's 2009 Trophée des Grimpeurs:

1. Jeannie Longo (ASPSA), 60km in 1:37:42
2. Edwige Pitel (ASPSA), at 0:53
3. Karine Gautard (Futuroscope), at 1:05
4. Aude Biannic (Bretagne), at 2:08
5. Pascale Jeuland (Futuroscope), at 2:08

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC