Specialized-lululemon confirms line up for 2013
  July 14, 2024 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, November 9, 2012

Specialized-lululemon confirms line up for 2013

by Ben Atkins at 12:16 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Largely unchanged roster for second season of American team

specialized-lululemonSpecialized-lululemon has announced a largely unchanged line up for 2013, which will be the American women’s team’s second in the pro peloton. The team - which grew out of the ashes of HTC-Highroad as it folded at the end of last year - took a number of big results in 2012, winning 60 races. These included both the World Cup team time trial in Vårgårda, Sweden, and the World championship team time trial in Limburg, Netherlands; Evie Stevens’ victory in Flèche Wallonne was the only meaningful defeat inflicted on Dutch sensation Marianne Vos in the whole season.

"We're extremely happy with our first season," said team owner Kristy Scrymgeour. "The enthusiasm within the team and from our partners really helped make the first year successful and a lot of fun. The response to the team also lends a lot of hope to the huge growth potential of women's cycling, something we are very passionate about."
"As well as competing at the highest level, it is a big priority for us to put every effort into growing the sport as a whole,” added the former Australian time trial champion. “I'm excited about the addition of new teams this year and a deep talent pool across the sport for 2013. I believe it will be an exciting year."

specialized-lululemonThe core of the 2012 team will remain, including Stevens - who also won a stage of the Giro d’Italia and the overall Route de France - and German super-sprinter Ina Teutenberg, who had been considering retirement at the end of this season. Five riders have departed however, with Charlotte Becker joining Argos-Shimano, Chloe Hosking and Emilia Fahlin both joining Hitec Products, Amber Neben joining Pasta Zara-Cogeas-Manhattan (currently Diadora-Pasta Zara), and Clara Hughes retiring from the sport.

These four will be replaced by three new faces, in the form of Canadian Gillian Carleton - who represented her country on the track at the London 2012 Olympics - experienced American climber Carmen Small, and young American Tayler Wiles, who impressed on her European debut in 2012.

The introduction of American Small and Wiles - as well as the loss of German Becker - means that the team will be registered as an American team in 2013.

The team’s two title sponsors remain for 2013, with Specialized providing bikes, helmets, shoes and other race kit.

"We are excited about the continued partnership with the team and lululemon," said Erin Sprague, Specialized Women's Product Manager. "These eleven women are more than a race team but an inspiration to female cyclists everywhere. We are proud of what they have accomplished and are looking forward to the future."

Canadian yoga clothing and equipment company lululemon athletica is also happy to be returning for a second year.
"We look to continue elevating the team's performance through incorporating yoga into their training routine and providing them with tools for their personal development off the bike,” said Laura Klauberg, SVP of Brand and Community. “Partnering with Specialized to support these athletes allows us to develop and learn more about the performance of our product and create the most exciting and best dressed team in the peloton!"

The team also welcomes back technical partners HED Wheels, Oakley, First Endurance, HTC, SRM, Ceramic Speed, Contintenal, Lezyne, PowerBar, Skoda, Elite, SciCon, Defeet, Action Wipes, BG Sportpartner, SVL Sport Insurance and DZ Nuts.

The team will also continue to work with children’s charity Right to Play, raising money for its programme in the central African country of Rwanda. November will see a number of items of team equipment - courtesy of the team’s partners - auctioned, with a custom disc wheel recently raising more than $1000.

Each item will be announced on the team’s Facebook page.

Specialized-lululemon team roster 2013
Lisa Brennuauer, Gillian Carleton, Katie Colclough, Loren Rowney, Carmen Small, Ally Stacher, Evelyn Stevens, Ina-Yoko Teutenberg, Ellen van Dijk, Tayler Wiles and Trixi Worrack


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC