Sven Nys continues perfect Superprestige season in Aspere-Gavere
  April 25, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Sven Nys continues perfect Superprestige season in Aspere-Gavere

by Ben Atkins at 1:42 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Cyclocross, Race Reports and Results
Kannibaal outsprints Klaas Vantornout in close muddy contest; Nikki Harris takes women's race

Sven NysSven Nys (Landbouwkrediet-Euphony) maintained his perfect record in the 2012/13 Superprestige series with his eighth career victory in Aspere-Gavere. The Kannibaal far from had things his own way however, in arguably the muddiest race of the season so far, as he was challenged all the way to the line by Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Revor).

Vantornout was no match for Nys’ sprint, and Mr Superprestige increased his race victory tally in the series to an incredible 59.

The chase behind the two leaders was led over the line by Bart Wellens (Telenet-Fidea), a few seconds ahead of Vantornout’s Sunweb-Revor teammate Kevin Pauwels.

Vantornout’s usual fast start was ruined as he suffered a mechanical problem on the very first climb of the opening lap. By the top of the climb, a four-man group of Wellens and Telenet-Fidea teammate Rob Peeters, Thijs van Amerongen (AA, and Swiss champion Julien Taramarcaz (BMC Racing) had broken clear, with the rest of the big names a few seconds behind them.

World champion Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) and Vantornout managed to cross the gap to the four leaders in the following lap however, and Vantornout went through the group and escaped alone.

Vantornout was pursued by Bart Aernouts (AA but, behind him, Nys had managed to get across to the Wellens group and he too managed to ride through and escape. The Belgian champion caught and passed Aernouts, before managing to bridge across to Vantornout, as as Wellens and Pauwels gave chase.

Nys’ usual final lap surge was not to have its usual effectiveness however, and Vantornout refused to be dropped by the Kannibaal. On the long drag, where he had experienced his firs lap problems, the Sunweb-Revor rider even shouldered his bike and managed to sprint alongside the still-riding Nys to prevent him from getting away.

Neither was able to get rid of the other though, and Vantornout led into the finishing straight. He was no match for Nys’ sprint, and the Belgian champion came around him to take four victories out of four in the 2012/13 Superprestige so far.

With Nys’ closest overall Superprestige rival Albert only managing sixth, Nys’ lead in the overall classification has extended further. The Belgian champion’s total was up to a maximum possible 60, with Albert - still in second place - now eight points behind on 52.

Nikki Harris revels in the mud to take women’s race

Nikki Harris (Telenet-Fidea) rode to her fourth victory of the season in the morning women’s race, as she escaped the rest of the big names early on. Revelling in the muddy conditions, the British rider managed to hold off the attentions of the previous weekend’s Hamme-Zogge winner, Sanne van Paassen (Rabobank Giant), with Belgian champion Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) in third.

The opening lap saw van Paassen and Rabobank Giant teammate Sabrina Stultiëns edge clear, but Harris made her way forward to join the group and soon left it behind.

Once in front the British rider never looked back as Cant tried to give chase. The Belgian champion was unable to make any ground however, and was passed by van Paassen as she approached the finish.

Result Elite Men
1. Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony
2. Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
3. Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea
4. Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
5. Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea
6. Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
7. Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA
8. Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA
9. Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) BMC Racing Team
10. Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank Giant Offroad Team

Result Elite Women
1. Nikki Harris (GBr) Telenet-Fidea
2. Sanne van Paassen (Ned) Rabobank Giant Offroad Team
3. Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm-BKCP
4. Sophie de Boer (Ned) Telenet-Fidea
5. Ellen van Loy (Bel)
6. Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabobank Giant Offroad Team
7. Amy Dombroski (USA) Telenet-Fidea
8. Pavla Havlikova (Cze) Telenet-Fidea
9. Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) Cycling Team Vermeeren
10. Githa Michiels (Bel)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC