Tyler Hamilton’s “Secret Race” named William Hill Sports Book of the Year
  October 16, 2021 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Monday, November 26, 2012

Tyler Hamilton’s “Secret Race” named William Hill Sports Book of the Year

by Ben Atkins at 1:01 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Doping
Controversial exposé of doping in the Armstrong era becomes third book to take prestigious prize

tyler hamiltonTyler Hamilton’s book “The Secret Race”, co-authored with writer Daniel Coyle, has been named the William Hill Sports Book of the Year, becoming the third cycling book to win the prestigious British prize. The book, which lifts the lid off Hamilton’s years as a professional rider, including those spent as a domestique for Lance Armstrong, exposes the doping culture that existed and, “has been widely described as the most damning indictment yet of Tour winners, such as… Lance Armstrong,” according to William Hill.

Previous cycling books to have taken the prize are Paul Kimmage’s “Rough Ride” in 1990, with the Irish rider-turned journalist becoming one of the biggest anti-doping campaigners in the sport, and Armstrong’s “It’s Not About the Bike”, written with columnist Sally Jenkins, which - despite the American having been stripped of his Tour de France titles and banned for life - remains an inspiration to those recovering from cancer.

“The mysterious world of cycling holds a certain fascination in the public consciousness  - now more than ever following the recent home-grown success in the sport,” said William Hill spokesman and co-founder of the prize, Graham Sharpe. “The Secret Race lifts the lid on that world and delivers a shocking and jaw-droppingly frank account of what it’s like to compete at the highest level.

“The Secret Race is the third - and most controversial – book about cycling to have claimed the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award: Paul Kimmage won the second ever Award for his ground-breaking Rough Ride, before Lance Armstrong and Sally Jenkins took the honour ten years later for It's Not About the Bike, the now contentious but nonetheless inspirational tale of Armstrong’s amazing recovery from cancer.”

Established in 1989, the William Hill award is now in its 24th year, and is the World’s “longest established and most literary sports-writing prize.” In addition to the £24,000 prize, the winners received a £2000 bet with the British bookmaker, a specially bound copy of their book, and a day at the races.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC