Edvald Boasson Hagen to lead Team Sky in the Santos Tour Down Under once again
  December 03, 2022 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Edvald Boasson Hagen to lead Team Sky in the Santos Tour Down Under once again

by Ben Atkins at 7:57 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour Down Under
Norwegian champion supported by British team’s Classics hopefuls in WorldTour opener

edvald boasson hagenTeam Sky has announced the seven-man line up of riders to start the Santos Tour Down Under, the opening race of the 2013 WorldTour, between January 22nd and 27th. The British team will be led by Edvald Boasson Hagen once again, with the Norwegian champion - and World championship silver medallist - looking to improve on his seventh place in last year's race, when he also took the points jersey (pictured).

The six-stage race, run around the Adelaide area of South Australia, has traditionally been a successful hunting ground for Team Sky; Ben Swift took two stages and finishing third overall in 2011, while Greg Henderson (now the Lotto-Belisol) gave the team a victory in its first ever race as he took the Cancer Council Helpline Classic (now the People’s Choice Classic) two days before the 2010 edition, then Chris Sutton took a stage in the race proper.

Supporting Boasson Hagen will be a team with one eye very much on the Spring Classics, including Australian former stage winner Sutton. Bernhard Eisel will be the team’s road captain, as he rides his first race as a member of a different team to Cavendish since 2007.

Team captain duties will be shared by experienced Australian Mathew Hayman, along with British trio Luke Rowe, national champion Ian Stannard and Geraint Thomas. Two days before the Tour Down Under, the team will as usual also take part in the People’s Choice Classic, a 51km criterium in downtown Adelaide, aiming to repeat Henderson’s 2010 success.

Race coach Kurt-Asle Arvesen will step up to fill one of the team’s recently vacated directeur sportif seats and will direct the team from the car.

Team Sky line up for the Santos Tour Down Under
Edvald Boasson Hagen, Bernhard Eisel, Mathew Hayman, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard, Chris Sutton and Geraint Thomas


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC