Argos-Shimano presents an ambitious team ready to take on the WorldTour
  July 14, 2024 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, January 11, 2013

Argos-Shimano presents an ambitious team ready to take on the WorldTour

by Ben Atkins at 1:37 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Dutch team has youngest average age in the top flight; also presents UCI women’s team

argos-shimanoArgos-Shimano presented both its men’s and women’s teams at its Spanish base in the Altea Hills, near Alicante, today, as it prepares to take its place in the International Cycling Union (UCI) WorldTour for the first time. The Dutch-registered international line up won the UCI Europe Tour in 2012, through German sprinter John Degenkolb (pictured left), and hopes for even more success with guaranteed invitations to the World’s biggest races in the coming year.

The 28-strong men’s roster has the youngest average age of any in the top flight, and “Riders and staff are determined to exploit the potential in 2013,” according to the team’s release.

On presenting the team, general manager Iwan Spekenbrink was keen to emphasise the values of the team, which began the 2012 season as “Project 1t4i” before attracting its name sponsors in the spring.

“A core part of Team Argos-Shimano’s policy is to work from a modern and credible top-class sports environment based on the 1t4i guidelines [Team spirit, Inspiration, Integrity, Improvement, and Innovation - ed],” explained Spekenbrink. “Innovation at every possible level is central both to the intensive and comprehensive coaching of the individual cyclists, male and female, and to developing the team into a strong collective.

“To ensure the athletes receive optimum coaching the team operates from its own training base at Altea Hills and the coaching staff includes many scientists and other specialists,” Spekenbrink added.

Central to the team’s presentation was the need to return credibility to cycling, which is continually rocked by revelations uncovered by the United States Anti-Doping Agency (USADA) investigation into Lance Armstrong.

“The USADA report confirms how important it is to continue and intensify the efforts to bring back credibility to this sport,” reads the team’s statement. “In this respect focus should not be only on checks and sanctions, but a culture change is necessary.

“The culture that led to riders, coaching staff and teams making the wrong choices or even encouraged them to do so, should make way for a clean, healthy and a successful top-class sport,” it continues. “Several teams, riders, sponsors and organisations have already started to lay a new foundation for a healthy future. From the beginning, Team Argos-Shimano has been an exponent and an advocate of a credible sport.”

The core of the team’s 2012 roster has been retained, with Degenkolb’s compatriot and fellow sprinter Marcel Kittel once again having a central role. Six riders have departed, while the increased roster size has meant that nine have been recruited, including American Tom Peterson from Garmin-Sharp, and neo-pros Jonas Ahlstrand and Warren Barguil, who both rode as stagiaires at the end of last year.

The Argos-Shimano women’s team has undergone far more radical changes in 2013, however, as it seeks to step up a level this year. Key departures from the 2012 line up include Adrie Visser, who transfers to Boels-Dolmans, and former Netherlands champion Suzanne de Goede, who retires. In their place come Dutch super sprinter Kirsten Wild from the defunct AA team, and German Charlotte Becker from Specialized-lululemon.

Also joining the Dutch team, as she steps up to senior elite level, is two-time World junior champion Lucy Garner.

Team Argos-Shimano roster 2013

Men’s Team
Warren Barguil, Thomas Damuseau, Yann Huguet, Thierry Hupond, Matthieu Sprick (all France), Nikias Arndt, John Degenkolb, Johannes Fröhlinger, Simon Geschke, Patrick Gretsch, Marcel Kittel (all Germany), Roy Curvers, Tom Dumoulin, Koen de Kort, Ramon Sinkeldam, Tom Stamsnijder, Albert Timmer, Tom Veelers (all Netherlands), Tobias Ludvigsson, Jonas Ahlstrand (both Sweden), Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (South Africa), Luka Mezgec (Slovenia), Tom Peterson (USA), Cheng Ji (China), François Parisien (Canada), Bert de Backer (Belgium), Georg Preidler (Austria), Will Clarke (Australia)

Women's Team
Charlotte Becker, Elke Gebhardt, Marlen Jöhrend (all Germany), Janneke Busser, Willeke Knol, Kelly Markus, Amy Pieters, Esra Tromp, Kirsten Wild (All Netherlands), Lucy Garner (Great Britain)

Christian Guiberteau (France), Adriaan Helmantel, Marc Reef, Rudi Kemna, Addy Engels, Jorn Knops, Aike Visbeek, Cees-Jan van der Zweep (all Netherlands).

General Manager
Iwan Spekenbrink (Netherlands)

Member of Management Team – Commerce
Sissy van Alebeek (Netherlands)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC