Sixteen teams confirmed for 2013 Critérium International
  April 26, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, February 8, 2013

Sixteen teams confirmed for 2013 Critérium International

by Shane Stokes at 8:27 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Critérium International
Nine WorldTour squads named, seven Pro Continental teams include five French teams

Cadel EvansTour de France organisers ASO have announced sixteen teams which have been selected for this year’s Critérium International, with those squads gaining an advantage of sorts in being able to compete in Corsica prior to the Tour’s start there in July.

The BMC Racing Team of defending champion Cadel Evans is back, although it remains to be confirmed if the Australian will ride to try to make it two in a row.

The American squad is one of nine WorldTour teams, with Ag2r La Mondiale, Blanco Pro Cycling, FDJ, Garmin – Sharp, RadioShack Leopard, Sky, Argos Shimano and Saxo Tinkoff being the others.

Seven Pro Continental squads have also been given the nod and, unsurprisingly, there is a strong French representation. Those five teams are Bretagne – Séché Environnement, Cofidis, Sojasun, Team Europcar and La Pomme Marseille, while Team Colombia and the Swiss IAM Cycling are the two remaining Pro Contiental squads.

Evans won last year’s race on the back of his time trial victory. He beat Pierrick Fedrigo (FDJ-Big Mat) and Michael Rogers (Sky) by eight seconds.

Florian Vachon (Bretagne – Schuller) and Fedrigo were the other two stage winners.

This year’s race will be held on March 23rd and 24th.

Team selections for 2013 Critérium International:

AG2R La Mondiale (FRA)*
Blanco Pro Cycling Team (NED)*
BMC Racing Team (USA)*
Garmin – Sharp (USA)*
RadioShack – Leopard (LUX)*
Sky Procycling (GBR)*
Team Argos – Shimano (NED)*
Team Saxo – Tinkoff (DEN)*
Colombia (COL)
Bretagne – Séché Environnement (FRA)
Cofidis, Solutions Crédits (FRA)
Sojasun (FRA)
Team Europcar (FRA)
IAM Cycling (SUI)
La Pomme Marseille (FRA)

* UCI WorldTour team


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC