New European Cycling Union chief Lappartient rules out running for UCI president’s role
  May 20, 2024 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

New European Cycling Union chief Lappartient rules out running for UCI president’s role

by VeloNation Press at 5:41 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Other UEC positions also decided in elections

David LappartientVictorious in Sunday’s European Cycling Uniont presidential election against former pro rider Andre Tchmil, David Lappartient has indicated that he will not challenge current UCI president Pat McQuaid when the latter’s term is up for vote in September.

“The purpose of my candidacy for the Presidency of the UEC is to increase values, a vision of cycling,” he said, according to Inside the Games. “If this view is supported by the UCI, there is no reason for me to be a candidate. I'm not currently looking to stand as President of the UCI.”

McQuaid is hoping to be elected to a third term but his chances have looked more difficult in recent months, in the face of criticism from within the sport over his and the UCI’s handling of the Lance Armstrong/US Postal Service affair.

However unless he ultimately decides not to run – and there are no indications of that – the only way that he would be replaced would be if another challenger came forward and received more votes.

French Cycling Federation president Lappartient has now indicated that he doesn’t intend to be a challenger.

He secured 34 votes in Sunday’s election at the National Olympic Centre of French Sport (CNOSF), almost three times the twelve votes secured by Tchmil, the president of the Moldovian cycling federation. In doing so, he replaces Poland's Wojciech Walkiewicz, who served one four year term but then decided to stand down.

McQuaid attended the UEC congress and congratulated Lappartient on the result.

The latter laid out some of his goals, saying that it was important not to forget about the heartlands of the sport. “We will be vigilant on ethics and the format of cycling,” he said. “The projects for the UEC are many, starting with the development of European cycling. We have ensure that the globalisation of cycling does not come at the expense of European cycling, which is the cradle of our sport.

In addition to the presidential election, other posts were also filled.

Alexander Gusyatnikov (Russia), Martin Wolf (Germany), Madis Lepajoe (Estonia), Tomaz Poijanec (Slovenia), Saskia Capello and Harald Tiedemann Hansen (Norway) were elected to the UEC Management Committee. Jan Jongsma (Netherlands) and Rory Wyley (Ireland) were elected as the two UEC Auditors, and a total of fourteen UEC members to the UCI congress were also appointed.

Eight European Candidates for the UCI Management Committee were voted in, namely Brian Cookson (Great Britain), Renato di Rocco (Italy), Igor Makarov (Russia), Emin Müftüoglu (Turkey), Peter Pedersen (Denmark), Marian Stetina (Czech Republic) and Tom Van Damme (Belgium).

Finally, outgoing president Wojciech Walkiewicz was named honorary president, Roland Hofer was named honorary secretary general and Daniel Baal the honorary treasurer.


Election of the UEC President

Lappartient David (FRA), 34 votes, elected
Tchmil Andrei (MDA), 12 votes

Election of the 6 Members of the UEC Management Committee

Gusyatnikov Alexander (RUS), 38 votes, elected
Wolf Martin (GER), 38 votes, elected
Lepajoe Madis (EST), 33 votes, elected
Poljanec Tomaz (SLO), 33 votes, elected
Capello Saskia (NED), 29 votes, elected
Tiedemann Hansen Harald (NOR), 29 votes, elected


Alumbreros Nunez Vicente (ESP), 8 votes
Chassot Richard (SUI), 11 votes
Concannon Michael (IRL), 14 votes
Dagnoni Cristian (ITA), 13 votes
Müftüoglu Emin (TUR), 9 votes
Pristouris Panagiotis (GRE), 1 vote
Stankevicius Zydrunas (LTU), 8 votes
Sutko Mihaly (HUN), 7 votes

Election of the 2 UEC Auditors

Jongsma Jan (NED), 43 votes, elected
Wyley R. (IRL), elected by acclamations

Election of the 14 European Members to the UCI Congress

Duci Giovanni (ITA), 30 votes, elected
Jackson Charles (GBR), 29 votes, elected
Kirsch Toni (GER), 38 votes, elected
Langellotti Umberto (MON), 29 votes, elected
Lesnikova Victoria (RUS), 36 votes, elected
Maréchal Thierry (BEL), 42 votes, elected
Massak Rudolf (AUT), 39 votes, elected
Mattsson Yvonne (SWE), 38 votes, elected
Privara Peter (SVK), 35 votes, elected
Regenwetter Jean (LUX), 37 votes, elected
Roy Patrice (FRA), 35 votes, elected
Svoboda Slavomir (CZE), 40 votes, elected
Tiedemann Hansen Harald (NOR), 29 votes, elected
Wintels Marcel (NED), 27 votes, elected


Berezovsky Alexandr (ARM), 16 votes
Chassot Richard (SUI), 18 votes
Lopez Cerron José Luis (ESP), 15 votes
Michaelides Nakis (CYP), 13 votes
Niskanen Mika (FIN), 17 votes
Pereira Delmino Albano (POR), 23 votes
Pristouris Panagiotis (GRE), 19 votes
Procikevic Marko (SRB), 25 votes

Designation of the 8 European Candidates for the UCI Management Committee:

Cookson Brian (GBR), 38 votes, designated
Di Rocco Renato (ITA), 39 votes, designated
Dr. Lopes Artur (POR), 32 votes, designated
Makarov Igor (RUS), 38 votes, designated
Müftüoglu Emin (TUR), 34 votes, designated
Pedersen Peder (DEN), 37 votes, designated
Dr. Stetina Marian (CZE), 36 votes, designated
Van Damme Tom (BEL), 38 votes, designated


Chassot Richard (SUI), 12 votes
Lang Czeslaw (POL), 14 votes
Lopez Cerron José Luis (ESP), 10 votes

The General Assembly unanimously decided to award the following titles to outgoing officers:

Honorary President to Mr. Wojciech WALKIEWICZ
Honorary Secretary General to Mr. Roland HOFER
Honorary Treasurer to Mr. Daniel BAAL


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC