Van Garderen and Gilbert head BMC Racing Team lineup for Tour of California
  July 22, 2024 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Van Garderen and Gilbert head BMC Racing Team lineup for Tour of California

by VeloNation Press at 7:55 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour of California
American rider feeling good before big goal: ‘To win, you need a strong team’

Tejay Van GarderenNew father Tejay van Garderen will seek to channel those emotions into a strong ride at the upcoming Tour of California, with the BMC Racing Team rider set to fight for a likely top placing in the 2.HC stage race.

Van Garderen, who was fifth overall and best young rider in 2011 plus fourth last year, could potentially challenge for the overall victory. He has been in fine form this year with second overall in the Tour de San Luis, third in Critérium International and fourth in Paris-Nice. Fired up by the birth of his daughter Rylan on April 7th, he has worked well to get ready for the American race.

“I have had to be flexible with the weather and with the new addition to our family, but I feel like I have gotten good work in and I am ready to race,” he stated. “To win, you need a strong team and I think we have the strongest on the flats with guys like Philippe [Gilbert, the world champion], Thor Hushovd and Michael Schär and on the climbs with Mathias Frank, Amaël Moinard and Marco Pinotti.We also have Brent Bookwalter, who can fill both of those roles.”

Gilbert will compete in the US for the first time in this year’s race and is another who could scoop good results.

The duo and their fellow BMC Racing Team riders will be guided by directeur sportif John Lelangue. “The whole team is dedicated and devoted to helping Tejay on the general classification, but we will also look to win some stages if we can,” he stated.

The 2013 Tour of California begins in Escondido on May 12th and concludes one week later in Santa Rosa.

BMC Racing Team for Amgen Tour of California:

Brent Bookwalter (USA), Mathias Frank (SUI), Philippe Gilbert (BEL), Thor Hushovd (NOR), Amaël Moinard (FRA), Marco Pinotti (ITA), Michael Schär (SUI), Tejay van Garderen (USA).


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC