Tour of California: Sagan wins and takes green, Van Garderen wins yellow
  May 21, 2019 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, May 19, 2013

Tour of California: Sagan wins and takes green, Van Garderen wins yellow

by Kyle Moore at 3:00 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results, Tour of California
Sagan sprints to stage eight to secure points competition over Farrar; Van Garderen confirms overall

Tour of CaliforniaPeter Sagan (Cannondale) unleashed a long sprint in Santa Rosa and won the concluding stage of the Amgen Tour of California by more than a bike length ahead of Daniel Schorn (NetApp-Endura). Sagan had a one-point lead on Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp) in the points competition, but put it to rest by taking the win. Farrar started from behind and nabbed third on the stage.

Tejay Van Garderen (BMC Racing) was shepherded successfully to the line by his BMC team-mates and confirmed the overall victory, his first stage race overall win.

The finale of stage eight in Santa Rosa featured two laps of a twisting four-kilometre circuit, taken cleanly by the peloton, as it was being marshaled by Cannondale and Garmin-Sharp.

Cannondale took control beginning the first of the two circuits and lined out the peloton behind them. They backed off as the second circuit began, and Garmin-Sharp came forward to take their turn. It was just a bit too early for the team to take control, and under the one kilometre kite, Sagan had two more men he could send to the front, and they led him out, as Farrar was forced to drop back before opening his sprint.

Details and reaction to follow.

Tour of California Stage 8: San Francisco – Santa Rosa (131km) Brief Results:

1. Peter Sagan (Cannondale)
2. Daniel Schorn (NetApp-Endura)
3. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp)
4. Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma-Quick Step)
5. Ken Hanson (Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies)
6. Thor Hushovd (BMC Racing)
7. Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEdge)
8. Jake Keough (UnitedHealthcare)
9. Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick Step)
10. Matt Brammeier (Champion System)

Final General Classification:

1. Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing)
2. Michael Rogers (Saxo-Tinkoff) @ 1:47
3. Janier Alexis Acevedo Colle (Jamis-Hagens Berman) @ 3:26
4. Mathias Frank (BMC Racing) @ 3:32
5. Cameron Meyer (Orica-GreenEdge) @ 3:33
6. Matthew Busche (RadioShack Leopard) @ 3:50
7. Francisco Mancebo Perez (5hr Energy) @ 4:52
8. Lawson Craddock (Bontrager) @ 5:24
9. Philip Deignan (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) @ 5:33
10. Chad Haga (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies) @ 5:52


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC