Farrar wins again in Eneco Tour
  June 17, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, August 20, 2009

Farrar wins again in Eneco Tour

by VeloNation Press at 2:51 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results, Eneco Tour
American Tyler Farrar of the Garmin-Slipstream team continued his string of successes today by winning the 178.1 kilometer second stage of the Eneco Tour from Ardooie to Brussels. Farrar got the better of Belarusan Yauheni Hutarovich (Française Des Jeux ) and Norweigan Edvald Boasson Hagen (Columbia-HTC).

"I never thought it was going to end in a sprint," confessed Farrar.

"The race was uncontrollable, I was reduced to playing a hand of poker in betting on a possible bunching up."

With his surprise win through the roads of Flanders, Farrar retains his overall leadership in the race, expressing his desire to keep his lead to the end after the finish saying, "I'm going to fight 100 percent to hold onto the lead."

In a race that was marked by several breakaways, including an attempt by second place overall Edvald Boasson Hagen, it was Rabobank's Nick Nuyens who was the last escapee standing, ending up just 500 meters short of victory.

Belgian Tom Boonen, who had promising results in the prologue and stage one, continued to struggle finishing well back in tenth place. The course combined with the oppressive heat took its toll on the riders, with many taking an early exit. Most notable of the abandons is Astana's Andreas Kloden, who took a spill in a roundabout and fractured his wrist.

Tomorrow's 158.3 kilometer stage has a profile similar to today's, and takes the riders from Niel to Hasselt.

Stage 2 Results:

1. Tyler Farrar, Garmin-Slipstream, 4:17:53
2. Yauheni Hutarovich, Française Des Jeux
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen, Team Columbia-HTC, s.t.
4. Wouter Weylandt, Quick Step, s.t.
5. Tom Veelers, Skil-Shimano, s.t.
6. Francesco Gavazzi, Lampre-NGC, s.t.
7. Baden Cooke, Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team, s.t.
8. Alexandre Usov, Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne, s.t.
9. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil, Caisse d'Epargne, s.t.
10. Tom Boonen, Quick Step, s.t.

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC