UCI Announces changes to ProTour Council
  June 17, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Saturday, November 7, 2009

UCI Announces changes to ProTour Council

by Ben Atkins at 2:12 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, General
After the International Cycling Union (UCI) Management Committee meeting of 23rd September, new names have been added to the UCI ProTour Council (UPTC).

Former Credit Agricole team manager Roger Legeay, Spaniard Ramon Mendiburu, Irish cycling legend Stephen Roche and recently retired German sprinter Erik Zabel have been appointed by the UCI replacing four outgoing members.

The committee members replaced are Italian Tour winner Felice Gimondi, Spanish five-time Tour winner Miguel Indurain, German Rudolf Scharping and former UCI president Hein Verbruggen. Dutchman Verbruggen’s departure avoids the main headlines, but could be significant as the ProTour is widely regarded as his brainchild.

The new composition of the UPTC:

Vittorio Adorni (Ita) President
Rocco Cattaneo (Sui)
Roger Legeay (Fra)
Ramon Mendiburu (Esp)
Stephen Roche (Irl)
Erik Zabel (Ger)
Michael Hinz (Ger)
Charly Mottet (Fra)
Roberto Amadio (Ita)
Jonathan Vaughters (USA)
Dario Cioni (Ita)
Cédric Vasseur (Fra)

The UCI also announced the names of the presidents for the commissions for the Paralympic and Olympic cycling disciplines, which are as follows:

Road: Joop Atsma (Ned)
Track: Mike Turtur (Aus)
Mountain Bike: David Lappartient (Fra)
Cyclocross: Brian Cookson (GBr)
BMX: Abe Schneider (Aus)
Para-Cycling: Louis Barbeau (Can)

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC