Evans Aussie cyclist of the year
  April 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Evans Aussie cyclist of the year

by Bjorn Haake at 2:16 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling

Cadel Evans was chosen as the Australian cyclist of the year for the third time in his career, after 2006 and 2007. Evans received the Sir Hubert Opperman 'Opp' medal at the Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards ceremony in Melbourne today.

Only Peter Besanko has won the medal three times (1979, 1981 and 1984), before Evans did the same today. While Evans failed to improve o his two second-place finishes in the Tour de France, he did become the first Australian to win the World Championships road race. He preceded his win in Mendrisio, Switzerland by finishing third in the Vuelta a España.

His successes earned him additional wins in the categories Scody People's Choice Cyclist of the Year and the Cycling Central Elite Male Road Cyclist of the Year. In the final of the Opperman medal, he was up against Jared Graves, World Cup Series and World Champion Mountain Bike rider, and Cameron Meyer, who won a gold (points race) and two silver medals at the World Championships.

Other award winners include:

  • Sir Hubert Opperman Medal - 2009 Australian Cyclist of the Year - Cadel Evans
  • 2009 Scody People's Choice Cyclist of the Year - Cadel Evans
  • Toshiba Elite Track Cyclists of the Year - Cameron Meyer and Anna Meares
  • Cycling Central Elite Road Cyclists of the Year - Cadel Evans & Ruth Corset
  • Cycling Central Elite Mountain Bike Cyclists of the Year - Jared Graves & Caroline Buchanan
  • Elite Male BMX Cyclists of the Year - Sam Willoughby and Caroline Buchanan
  • Elite Male Para-cyclists of the Year - Michael Gallagher and Susan Powell
  • SBS Television Coach of the Year - Matt Gilmore

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC