Team UniSA to ride Tour Down Under
  May 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Monday, December 21, 2009

Team UniSA to ride Tour Down Under

by Nick Mulder at 7:53 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour Down Under

Team UniSA Australia has revealed its roster for January’s Santos Tour Down Under, a race that for years has served as a platform for young Australian talent to make a splash onto the international cycling scene. The Australian tour is set to kick off the ProTour calendar starting on January 19th in Clare, and will finish six days later in Adelaide City.

Recent years have seen several UniSA Australia riders graduate to the ProTour ranks after successful debuts at the Tour Down Under. The list includes brothers Cameron and Travis Meyer as well as 2009 under-23 World Time Trial Champion Jack Bobridge. All three riders will unite at the Garmin-Transitions team next season.

The team has named Michael Matthews, Rohan Dennis, Simon Clarke, Timothy Roe, Jonathan Cantwell, and Peter McDonald as the first six of seven allowed.

The team is a mix of young talent and experienced riders, including Dennis and Roe, only 19 and 20 years old, respectively. Both riders are regarded as some of Australia’s finest talents. After a successful season Roe joins the Trek-Livestrong squad in 2010 to further his development. Dennis, a strong track pursuit racer and time trialist, joins Team Jayco Skins next year.

“There is no better feeling for a cyclist then racing at the highest level in your home town. Timothy Roe and Rohan Dennis have been given that opportunity and we look forward to their performance next month,” said Race Director Mike Turtur.

Another up and coming rider is Michael Mathews. He was Australian Junior cyclist of the year in 2008 and bronze medalist at this year under-23 Australian time trial championships
McDonald is the 2009 Australian Road Race champion, and Clarke and Cantwell are most likely to challenge the Pro-Tour riders. Clarke returns to the Tour Down Under after a successful season that saw him finish eighth overall at the Tour of Britain. The 23-year-old will join the Ukranian-Italian Pro-Continental team ISD-Neri in 2010.

Fly-V-Australia’s Cantwell enjoyed a breakout season this year, winning the opening criterium and stage six of the Jayco Herald Sun Tour, as well as scoring several victories across the pond in the United States.

UniSA Vice Chancellor Professor Peter Høj sees University’s ten year involvement with the Santos Tour Down Under as an “exciting and invaluable partnership”.

“The Santos Tour Down Under has developed an enormous following in South Australia and a special place in Australia’s annual sporting calendar,” Prof Høj said.

“As sponsors we are delighted to provide support for the Australian team and to give young riders a chance to shine in this international class event. At the same time the Santos Tour Down Under does a great deal to highlight good health and healthy lifestyles beyond professional competition, with events such as the Mutual Community Challenge Tour and Mutual Community mini tour for kids. As one of the biggest allied health educators and research institutions in the state, this is a great fit for UniSA.

“This year’s team UniSA-Australia will again provide some terrific opportunities for elite young riders to show us their racing skills and there will be two high potential South Australians in the team – Tim Roe and Rohan Dennis - so local crowds will have a lot to cheer about.”

CEO Cycling Australia, Graham Fredericks said, “Australian cycling boasts some outstanding young talent and racing in the Santos Tour Down Under provides invaluable experience for them and a wonderful opportunity to impress.”

The seventh rider of the UniSA – Australia team will be chosen following the 2010 Scody Australian Open Road Cycling Championships on January 10th 2010 in Victoria.

Tour Down Under Stages for 2010
January 17: Cancer Council Helpline Classic: Adelaide - Adelaide (51 km)
January 19: stage 1: Clare - Tanunda (141 km)
January 20: stage 2: Gawler - Hahndorf (133 km)
January 21: stage 3: Unley - Stirling (132,5 km)
January 22: stage 4: Norwood - Goolwa (149,5 km)
January 23: stage 5: Snapper Point - Willunga (148 km)
January 24: stage 6: Adelaide City Council Street Circuit (90 km


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC