Saxo Bank's O'Grady to race Tour Down Under
  June 21, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Saxo Bank's O'Grady to race Tour Down Under

by VeloNation Press at 9:53 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour Down Under

Two-time Tour Down Under winner Stuart O’Grady confirmed today that he will compete at the 2010 edition which starts in Adelaide on January 17th. The Australian is said to be recovering well from a bout with bacterial pneumonia.

“As the inaugural Santos Tour Down Under winner in 1999 and a great South Australian sports star, Stuart is a big favourite with the crowds,” explained Santos Tour Down Under Race Director Mike Turtur.

“It is always special to watch O’Grady riding in the peloton in his hometown and it is great news that he will be fit enough to ride.”

Once rivals for the Tour de France Green sprinter’s jersey, Baden Cooke will join O’Grady in the Saxo Bank team in 2010.

“Baden is a welcome return and an asset to the spectacle of the race. In 2003, he won the Tour de France green jersey by two points in a tight finish on the Champs-Élysées with McEwen second and O'Grady seventh," he added.

The team will also bring sprinter JJ Haedo along who will could also be a factor for stage wins.

"It will be interesting to see this friendly Aussie rivalry reunited,” says Mike Turtur.

“It is great, as always, to have Jens Voight back racing in Adelaide. He’s a true cycling professional and has massive respect in the peloton.”

Team Saxo Bank’s team for the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under will be led by Team Manager, Brad McGee (AUS), and includes the following riders: Anders Lund (DEN), Jens Voight (GER), Baden Cooke (AUS), Stuart O’Grady (AUS), Jose Juan Haedo (AGR), Frank Høj (DEN), and Kasper Klostergarrd (DEN).

The 2010 Santos Tour Down Under will be held in Adelaide and regional South Australia from 17-24 January 2010.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC