ISD-Neri heads field in Tour de Langkawi
  May 25, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

ISD-Neri heads field in Tour de Langkawi

by Conal Andrews at 6:34 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling

With six more teams likely to be confirmed soon, the ISD Neri team has been announced as leading the charge for the 15th edition of theTour de Langkawi.

As things stand at this point in time, the Pro Continental squad will line up against thirteen other teams in the 2.HC-ranked Malaysian event, which runs from March 1 – 7.

"Three National teams are from Malaysia, Kazakhstan and South Africa while the other 10 are Continental teams," said Sports Ministry Secretary General Datuk Mohd Yasin Mohd Salleh today.

The Continental teams are Drapac Porsche (Australia), Tabriz Petrochemical Cycling Team (Iran), Seoul Cycling (South Korea), Marco Polo Cycling Team (China), Asian Racing Team (Japan), Max Success Sport Racing Team (China), Geumsan Ginseng Asia (South Korea), Azad University (Iran), Giant Asia Racing Team (Taiwan) and the Malaysia-registered LeTua Cycling Team.

“KBS and the organizing committee have identified other teams’ application and will decide the remaining teams that will compete in LTDL soon,” said Datuk Mohd Yasin.

"We also believe that ISD-Neri, which ranked 13th overall last year, will be more competitive after experiencing the hardships of racing under extreme hot and humid weather in Malaysia.”

ISD-Neri’s top rider is former Italian champion and Giro d’Italia Maglia Rosa Giovanni Visconti. Last year he won the Coppa Agostini, Trofeo Melinda, stage two of the Tour of Slovenia and the Giro’s TV classification, and so it will be hoped that he will make the trip to Malaysia for the race.

Datuk Mohd Yasin said that two new teams were expected to add to the race’s action. "We would like to welcome new teams from China, Max Success Sport and Geumsan Ginseng Asia from South Korea, [who are] appearing for the first time in Malaysia and LTDL. We are confident with the presence of these teams, LTDL will be lively and intense," he added.

Geumsan Ginseng will include the Malaysian sprinter Anuar Manan and the 2008 Tour de Langkawi Asian Champion Shinichi Fukushima.

The race will begin on March 1st with a 174.5 kilometre race from Kota Bharu to Kuala Berang. Other stages are Kuala Terengganu - Chukai (182.3km); Pekan - Mersing (145.6km); Mersin-Parit Sulong (163.5km); Muar - Port Dickson (116.9km) Putrajaya - Genting Highlands (102.8km) and Kuala Kubu Baru - Dataran Merdeka (133.7km).

The final lineup is expected to total 120 riders and 20 teams.

Pro Continental team:


Continental teams:

Drapac Porsche - AUSTRALIA
Tabriz Petrochemical Cycling Team - IRAN
Seoul Cycling Team - KOREA
Marco Polo Cycling Team - CHINA
Aisan Racing Team - JAPAN
Max Success Sport Cycling Team - CHINA
Le Tua cycling Team - MALAYSIA
Team Geumsan Ginseng Asia - KOREA
Azad University Cycling Team - IRAN
Giant Asia Racing Team – TAIWAN

National teams:

South Africa


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC