Nys outsprints Stybar in Krawatencross
  April 23, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Saturday, February 6, 2010

Nys outsprints Stybar in Krawatencross

by Ben Atkins at 12:19 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Cyclocross, Race Reports and Results

Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) showed that he is not yet ready to hand over to the next generation of riders by outsprinting newly crowned World champion Zdenek Stybar (Telenet-Fidea) in the Krawatencross in Lille, Belgium.

Nys and Stybar took the lead almost immediately on the sandy course and managed to stay away for the whole race. A mid-race acceleration from Kevin Pauwels (Telenet-Fidea) failed to catch the leading pair. He was caught once again by former World champion Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) and Sven Vanthourenhout (Sunweb-Revor) but still managed to take the sprint for third.

"This was not a sprint like at the beginning of the season, but I can’t beat Stybar every day," said Nys to to Sport.be, who raced with a bad cold. "As the race went on I started to feel a bit better, but I could not drop Zdenek.

“My nose was completely blocked, but luckily my legs weren’t," he smiled.

Nys now leads Albert in the overall GvA Trofée by 14 points with just the Oostmalle race on February 21st remaining.

1. Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
2. Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea
3. Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea
4. Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
5. Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
6. Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank
7. Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea
8. Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
9. Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea
10. Gerben de Knegt (Ned) Rabobank

Vos shows the rest who’s champion

Marianne Vos (Nederland-Bloeit) overcame a last lap mechanical to outsprint her big rivals in the women’s race in Lille, Belgium, according to telegraaf.nl. The newly re-crowned World champion entered the last lap with Dutch champion Daphny Van Den Brand, Sanne Van Paassen (both ZZPR.nl) and Belgian champion Sanne Cant (BKCP-Powerplus), riding in her local race.

Despite attacks, no rider was able to escape. Vos dropped her chain and lost ground on the others but chased hard and caught them just before the line, winning the sprint.

Helen Wyman (Kona-FSA) took a morale boosting fifth the day before she is due to defend her national title in the rescheduled British Championships, tomorrow.

1. Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland-Bloeit
2. Daphny Van Den Brand (Ned) ZZPR.nl
3. Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
4. Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) ZZPR.nl
5. Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona-FSA


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC