Gerdemann gets Milram's first win in Spain
  June 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Gerdemann gets Milram's first win in Spain

by Bjorn Haake at 10:52 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Linus Gerdemann of Milram won the third race of the Mallorca Challenge, the Trofeo Inca, ahead of breakaway companions Rafael Valls (Footon-Servetto) and Manuel Vázquez (Andalucía-Cajasur). The Milram team was omnipresent throughout the stage, almost as if trying to console teammate Gerald Ciolek, who broke his collarbone in Qatar.

Gerdemann and Milram did a great race. "That was a way to open the new season with a bang," Gerdemann said after the stage. "We put in a super team performance in really bad weather.  Especially in light of the very difficult conditions, we showed that we are all top motivated and have big plans for this year."

Indeed, Milram was present at the front from the start and Paul Voss took the first mountain pass after 37 kilometers. Breaks were initially not allowed by the peloton, so it took until kilometer 101 and the Coll de Sóller for things to stretch out. With Gerdemann in second, Thomas Rohregger, Voss and Christian Knees in fourth through sixth, it was Milram time.

Over the next sprint, the German team led again (Johannes Fröhlinger, Rohregger and Gerdemann). Ascending the Puig Major, a group of four formed after 115 kilometers, with two Milrams (Gerdemann and Rohregger) accompanied by Valls and Vázquez. Over the top (km 125), Valls had a 20-second lead over other three. The peloton was 1'30 behind.

Valls tried hard to stay away, but five kilometers from the finish, he was caught by Gerdemann and Vázquez. Rohregger had done his share and dropped back. His teammate delivered the goods.

Results Trofeo Inca - 157.2km

1 Linus Gerdemann (Team Milram) 3h55'45
2 Rafael Valls (Footon-Servetto) s.t.
3 Manuel Vazquez (Andalucia Cajasur)
4 Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel - Euskadi) 02'22
5 Aitor Pérez (Footon-Servetto) 02'33
6 José Iván Gutiérrez (Caisse D'epargne) 02'33
7 Jan Bakelandsts (Omega Pharma - Lotto) 02'34
8 Thomas Rohregger (Team Milram) 03'24
9 Rein Taaramae (Le credit en ligne Cofidis) 03'24
10 Johannes Fröhlinger (Team Milram) 04'09


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC