Kreuziger climbs to Sardinia glory
  April 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Kreuziger climbs to Sardinia glory

by Ben Atkins at 12:14 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Roman Kreuziger (Liquigas-Doimo) outsprinted his breakaway companions to take victory in stage 2 of the Giro di Sardegna. The Czech was the fastest of a group of seven riders that arrived at the mountaintop finish at Nuoro (Monte Ortobene), 922m above sea level. American climbing specialist Chris Horner (RadioShack) finished second, with French breakaway king Thomas Voeckler in third.

The stage’s first action came after 34km when 10 riders escaped. The group was made up of Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas-Doimo), Lorenzo Bernucci (Lampre-Farnese Vini), Sergey Klimov (Katusha), Markel Irizar (RadioShack), Simon Clarke (ISD-Neri), Alan Marangoni and Marcello Pavarin (both Colnago-CSF Inox), Matteo Montaguti (De Rosa-Stac Plastic), Alessandro Maserati (Ceramica Flaminia) and Konstantin Volik (Amore & Vita).

The breakaway built a maximum lead of 3'05" but was pulled back after 157 km. Stefano Pirazzi (Colnago-CSF Inox), Alexander Pliuschin (Katusha) and Giaro Ermeti (De Rosa-Stac Plastic) all tried to get away before the final climb. The Liquigas-Doimo team refused to allow anyone to escape, apparently for the benefit of Vincenzo Nibali.

On the climb to the finish at Monte Ortobene the Liquigas-Doimo team continued to apply the pressure, thinning the peloton down to just a few dozen. The group containing Kreuziger, Horner and Voeckler, also featuring Michele Scarponi (Androni Giocattoli-Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni) and Horner’s RadioShack teammate Janez Brajkovic, disconnected from the front of the bunch in the closing stages.

The 23-year-old Czech proved his form today by winning the stage, and with the time bonuses on the line he also earned the leader’s jersey.

Result stage 2
1. Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas-Doimo
2. Christopher Horner (USA) Radioshack
3. Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
4. Damiano Caruso (Ita) De Rosa – Stac Plastic
5. Michele Scarponi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni
6. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Team Radioshack
7. Przemyslaw Niemec (Pol) Miche
8. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF Inox
9. Cristiano Salerno (De Rosa-Stac Plastic
10. Robert Kiserlovsky (Cro) Liquigas-Doimo

Standings after stage 2
1. Roman Kreuziger (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
2. Christopher Horner (USA) RadioShack @ 4s
3. Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Bbox Bouyges Telecom @ 6s


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC