Alex Rasmussen wins Andalucia stage 4 time trial
  June 18, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Alex Rasmussen wins Andalucia stage 4 time trial

by Ben Atkins at 1:29 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Alex Rasmussen (Saxo Bank) was the only rider to break the 13-minute barrier for the 10.9km Vuelta a Andalucia time trial course in the resort city of Malaga. The Dane, who finished third in the sprint on stage 2 overtook previous stage leader Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) by five seconds to take the lead. World Championship bronze medallist Tony Martin (HTC-Columbia) managed to overhaul previous third-placed Hayden Roulston (HTC-Columbia), but couldn’t quite match the times of Wiggins and Rasmussen.

Late starting Jens Voigt (Saxo Bank) also managed to oust Roulston, but he too was to be overtaken by fourth from last to start Michael Rogers (HTC-Columbia). Overnight leader leader Sergio Pardilla (Carmiooro-NGC) could only manage 31st, 1’03” behind Rasmussen, and crucially 51 seconds behind Rogers. With second and third placed Jurgen Van den Broeck (OmegaPharma-Lotto) and Manuel Vazquez (Andalucia-CajaSur) unable to match his time, the Australian three-time World time trial champion moves into the race lead with one stage to go.

Tomorrow’s fifth and final stage will be 161 rolling kilometres between Torrox Costa and Antequera. Neither the major obstacle of the day, the 944m Puerto del Torcal, nor the slight uphill finish should be enough to worry Rogers and prevent him from taking overall victory.

Result stage 4
1. Alex Rasmussen (Den) Saxo Bank
2. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky @ 5s
3. Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Columbia @ 7s
4. Michael Rogers (Aus) HTC-Columbia @ 12s
5. Jens Voigt (Ger) Saxo Bank) @ 23s
6. Hayden Roulston (NZl) HTC-Columbia @ 25s
7. Gustav Larsson (Swe) Saxo Bank @ 28s
8. Paul Martens (Ger) Rabobank @ 28s
9. Gregory Henderson (Nzl) Team Sky @ 30s
10. Maxime Monfort (Bel) HTC-Columbia @ 34s

Standings after stage 4
1. Michael Rogers (Aus) HTC-Columbia
2. Jurgen Van den Broeck (Bel) OmegaPharma-Lotto @ 19s
3. Sergio Pardilla (Spa) Carmiooro-NGC @ 30s


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC