Evans takes home the 2009 Mendrisio d'Oro Trophy
  May 26, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Evans takes home the 2009 Mendrisio d'Oro Trophy

by VeloNation Press at 12:12 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, World Championships

Newly crowned World Champion Cadel Evans (BMC Racing) has joined the long distinguished list of cyclists who have won the "Mendrisio d'Oro" trophy for his outstanding achievements during the 2009 cycling season. The "Mendrisio d'Oro" award is handed out annually by the international cycling Velo Club Mendrisio, based in Switzerland where Evans took the biggest win of his career last September.

The Mayor of Mendrisio presented the award to the Australian, whose seasonal home in Europe is based nearby. “Winning Mendrisio d'Oro is a great honor for any cyclist, just look at the list of past winners,” Evans said. “For me personally, to be presented such an internationally-recognized award by the mayor of my local town, is an even greater honor.”

The award was first bestowed on the great Eddy Merckx back in 1972, and amongst its winners are names such as Felice Gimondi, Raymond Poulidor, Roger De Vlaeminck, Bernard Hinault, Francesco Moser, Sean Kelly, Greg Lemond, Stephen Roche, Miguel Indurain, Mario Cipollini, Laurent Jalabert and Paolo Bettini.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC