Serpa wins Coppi-Bartali stage 2 as Riccò attacks
  May 24, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Serpa wins Coppi-Bartali stage 2 as Riccò attacks

by Ben Atkins at 11:21 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Jose Serpa (Androni Giocattoli) won the second stage of the Settimina Coppi e Bartali between San Lazzaro di Savena and Faenza. The Colombian climber won the sprint from a group of six breakaway riders, with Fortunato Baliani (Miche) in second and Riccardo Riccò third in only his second race since returning from suspension.

After 56km of the 175.1km stage a group of 16 riders escaped the peloton, consisting of: Adriano Malori (Lampre-Farnese Vini), Davide Cimolai (Liquigas-Doimo), Edoardo Girardi (Ceramica Flaminia), Oscar Gatto (ISD-Neri), Stefano Borchi and Jure Golcer (De Rosa-Stac Plastic), Enrico Zen (Colnago-CSF Inox), Rafai Chtioui and Paolo Ciavatta (Acqua & Sapone), Thomas Bertolini (Androni Giocattoli), Blaz Jarc (Adria Mobil), Manuele Caddeo (Zheroquadro Radenska), Davide Bonucelli and Daniele Callegarin (CDC Cavaliere), Walter Proch (Betonexpressz 2000) and Manuele Anton (Burgos 2016).

The group failed to work together cohesively though, so Borchi escaped with Vladislav Borisov (Amore e Vita) escaped together and built a lead of 6’26” by the time begun the second climb of Monte Carla for the second time at 100km. On the climb Borchi was dropped by Borisov, who continued alone until he was caught by the peloton with around 45km to go.

After a number of unsuccessful attacks, Riccò escaped on the steepest section of Monte Trebbio, taking Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF Inox), Przemyslaw Niemiec (Miche), José Rujano (ISD-Neri), Serpa and Baliani with him. The six riders worked together well, maintaining a slim advantage over the fracturing peloton, and Serpa was the fastest at the finish to take his first win of the season.

Oliver Zaugg (Liquigas-Doimo) takes over the lead in the overall classification from teammate Francesco Chicchi, who finished in a group almost 15 minutes back.

Result stage 2
1. José Rodoldo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli-Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni
2. Fortunato Baliani (Ita) Miche
3. Riccardo Riccò (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia
4. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Miche
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago-CSF Inox
6. José Rujano (Ven) ISD-Neri
7. Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini @ 12s
8. Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia
9. Daniele Righi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
10. Emanuele Sella (Ita) Carmiooro-NGC

Standings after stage 2
1) Oliver Zaugg (Swi) Liquigas-Doimo
2. Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
3. José Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli-Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni a 8"


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC