Gautier gives Bouygues Telecom another win, this time Vitré
  May 27, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, April 2, 2010

Gautier gives Bouygues Telecom another win, this time Vitré

by Bjorn Haake at 2:40 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Cyril Gautier gave his Bouygues Telecom team the fifth victory in seven days, by winning the 1.1 Route Adélie de Vitré in France solo. Gautier arrived at the finish 38 seconds ahead of a group of four, taking his first victory as a professional rider.

Bouygues' directeur sportif, Ismaël Mottier, had a big grin on his face at the finish. "I am very satisfied," he said. "Cyril is super happy. Today, the whole team rode like bosses. Currently, everything is going right for us."

Gautier joined the right break, with Benoît Vaugrenard (Française des Jeux), Julien Simon (Saur-Sojasun), Laurent Pichon (Bretagne-Schuller), Lloyd Mondory (AG2R La Mondiale), Sébastien Minard (Cofidis), Jonathan Thiré (BigMat Auber 93) and Vitaliy Popkov (ISD Continental).

Gautier, knowing his home area in Brittany well, attacked the group eight kilometers from the line and never gave up his advantage. Behind, the break disintegrated in the end. Pichon won the sprint for second, ahead of Vaugrenard. Mondory was fourth and Simon fifth. Minard dropped off in the sprint and was five seconds behind. Thiré and Popkov had lost contact earlier. The peloton came home almost eleven minutes after the winner.

Bbox Bouygues Telecom had a winning week. Pierrick Fédrigo won a stage in the Critérium International and took the overall, Steve Chainel and Sébastien Turgot celebrated one stage win each in the Driedaagse De Panne-Koksijde.


1 Cyril Gautier (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) - 4h58'34
2 Laurent Pichon (Bretagne Schuller)                  0'38
3 Benoît Vaugrenard (Française des Jeux)
4 Lloyd Mondory (AG2R La Mondiale)
5 Julien Simon (Saur-Sojasun)
6 Sébastien Minard (Cofidis)                                 0'43
7 Jonathan Thiré (BigMat Auber 93)                     2'28
8 Vitaliy Popkov (ISD Continental)                        3'40
9 Anthony Ravard (AG2R La Mondiale)             10'45
10 Vytautas Kaupas (Team Differdange)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC