Riccó wins Giro del Trentino's stage two, Vinokourov defends overall lead
  May 25, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Riccó wins Giro del Trentino's stage two, Vinokourov defends overall lead

by VeloNation Press at 11:59 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results

Ceramica Flaminia rider Riccardo Riccó demonstrated what might have been in this year's Giro d'Italia today by winning the second stage in the Giro de Trentino atop the category one San Martino di Castrozza climb.  The Italian left race leader Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) and compatriot Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Doimo) in his wake to claim second and third respectively.

“I definitely got a tough win, Vinokourov came to congratulate me. Basso? I didn’t see him,” said Riccò afterwards.

The 172.5 kilometer stage was marked by a 13-man breakaway that was allowed a maximum advantage of seven minutes over the peloton.  The last 65 kilometers of the day featured two major climbs and, with the steady dose of uphill being handed out all day, the gap wasn't enough to hold the race favorites at bay.

With his second place Vinokourov was able to retain his lead in the overall and will now have more confidence ahead of the Giro d'Italia.  "It is satisfying because it confirms my growing power," said Vinokourov after the stage.  "My training in altitude in Tenerife has been worth it. But let’s keep our feet on the ground, we won’t fight to keep the leader's jersey. The Giro del Trentino is my final preparation before Liege-Bastogne-Liege and the Giro d'Italia."

Giro del Trentino stage 2 results:

1) Riccardo Riccò (Ceramica Flaminia) in 4h 47'59", average 33,830 kmh
2) Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana)
3) Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Doimo)
4) Jose Serpa Perez (Androni Giocattoli - Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni)
5) Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF Inox)
6) Sergio Pardilla (Carmiooro-NGC)
7) Michele Scarponi (Androni Giocattoli - Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni)
8) Tadej Valjavec (Ag2r-La Mondiale)
9) Thomas Frei (BMC Racing)
10) Robert Kiserlovski (Liquigas-Doimo)

Overall after stage 5:
1) Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC