Bruseghin and Arroyo lead Caisse d’Epargne to Giro
  April 22, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Monday, May 3, 2010

Bruseghin and Arroyo lead Caisse d’Epargne to Giro

by Ben Atkins at 11:23 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Giro d'Italia

The Caisse d’Epargne team has announced its team for the Giro d’Italia, which starts in Amsterdam this coming Saturday. The Spanish team has named two captains in Italian Marzio Bruseghin and Spaniard David Arroyo.

Bruseghin finished a slightly disappointing 9th in last year’s Giro, while riding for the Lampre team, and generally finishes the race in the top ten overall. His best performance in the Corsa Rosa was his third place behind Alberto Contador in 2008. He also rode the Tour de France and Vuelta a España that year, making him one of the few riders to ride all three Grand Tours in the same year. Brus’ was Italian time trial champion in 2006, and has won two time trial stages in the Giro, in 2007 and 2008.

He will be hoping that with his new team he will be able to go as well, if not better, than two years ago.

Arroyo finished 10th in last year’s race, one place behind Bruseghin, as he did in 2007 in his only previous appearance. The Spaniard is generally known as a loyal mountain domestique, but has been given team leadership for this race in the past; he may find himself working for Bruseghin this year though.

The team is made up of experienced domestiques of the calibre of Pablo Lastras and Xabier Zandi, and young riders like Frenchman Arnold Jeannesson and Andrey Amador.

Caisse d’Epargne team for the Giro d’Italia:
Andrey Amador, David Arroyo, Marzio Bruseghin, Arnold Jeannesson, Vasil
Kiriyenka, Pablo Lastras, Alberto Losada. Rigoberto Uran and Xabier Zandi.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC