Four Days of Dunkerque: Vaugrenard takes final stage; Elmiger the overall
  December 02, 2021 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, May 9, 2010

Four Days of Dunkerque: Vaugrenard takes final stage; Elmiger the overall

by Bjorn Haake at 10:53 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results, Four Days of Dunkirk

Benoit Vaugrenard (Française des Jeux) escaped inside the final five kilometers from a 14-man front group to take the final stage of the Four Days of Dunkerque. Second and third were  Nicolay Trussov (Team Katusha) and Jens Mouris (Vacansoleil), respectively. Martin Elmiger defended his overall lead, while Sep Vanmarcke took home the mountains jersey.

Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil took out the sprint prize. Faria Da Costa managed second place in the overall behind Elmiger and also took the young rider's competition. Caisse d'Epargne ended as the best team, which was demonstrated by the fact that the second and third place overall went to riders form the Spanish squad.

A break of 14 went early, with three mountain points located in the first 65km. The first one (km 12) was taken by  Benoit Vaugrenard (Française des Jeux), around half a minute ahead of the peloton.

Stéphane Augé (Cofidis) took the second KOM (km 30), with the gap to the bunch now past the one-minute mark. It went up to two minutes when the third KOM was taken by Mickael Delage (Omega Pharma – Lotto). This was the final KOM of the race, with Sep Vanmarcke (Topsport Vlaanderen) winning the overall title for it.

The break entered the finishing circuit (ten laps of seven km each) around two minutes ahead of the peloton, shortly after passing the feed zone. With three laps (21km) remaining, the break still had a good minute.

The break maintained a slim lead of 24 seconds as they entered the last seven-kilometer lap. With less than five kilometers to go, Vaugrenard attacked to take the win

Stage result - 179km
1 Benoit Vaugrenard (Française des Jeux)  4h11'51 (avg 42,764 km/h)
2 Nicolay Trussov (Katusha) 0'02
3 Jens Mouris (Vacansoleil) 0'04
4 Jimmy Engoulvent (Saur - Sojasun)
5 Lilian Jegou (Bretagne - Schuller)

Final General Classification
1 Martin Elmiger (AG2R)  21h36'03
2 Faria Da Costa (Caisse d'Epargne) at 0'04
3 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Caisse d'Epargne) 0'17
4 Cédric Pineau (Roubaix Lille Metropole) 0'23
5 Gerald Ciolek (Milram) 0'27


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC