Ben King powers to US national road title in solo style
  March 05, 2021 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Ben King powers to US national road title in solo style

by VeloNation Press at 9:14 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Race Reports and Results, National Championships
Bold move punctuates his U23 success

Trek-Livestrong rider Ben King took the coveted stars and stripes jersey today in Greenville, South Carolina with an audacious 65 kilometer solo effort in front of a field stacked with talent.  The 21 year old held off a group of chasers that saw US-based pros Alex Candelario (Kelly Benefit Strategies) and Kiel Reijnen (Jelly Belly presented by Kenda) snag second and third, respectively.

“We were going pretty hard at the beginning there,” said King after the finish. “Once I was solo I had nine minutes; I was thinking about a lot of motivators. I was praying pretty hard after Paris Mountain and my prayers got answered.”

The win saw him become the youngest winner in the event's 25 year history.

King was part of the trio forming the break of the day that included Daniel Holloway (Bissell) and Scott Zwizanski (Kelly Benefit Strategies).  The young talent left his companions on the ascent of Paris mountain on the third of four 35 kilometer laps and never looked back.

A group of more than 20 riders that arrived at the closing circuits together, including ProTour veterans George Hincapie, Chris Horner and Levi Leipheimer.  King was able to fend off his elders and crossed the finish line more than a minute and a half before Candelario made it home.  With his success today he adds a pro road national championship to his U23 victory earlier this year.

Today's race caps off a weekend of racing that highlights the up-and-coming youth in Amercian cycling.  Yesterday 20 year old Taylor Phinney took his first US Pro national title in the time trial.

2010 US Road National Championship Results:
1 Benjamin KING (Trek-Livestrong)
2 Alex CANDELARIO (Kelly Benefit Strategies)
3 Kiel REIJNEN (Jelly Belly presented by Kenda)
4 Christopher HORNER (RadioShack)
5 George HINCAPIE (BMC Racing)
6 Shawn MILNE (Team Type 1)
7 Matthew BUSCHE (RadioShack)
8 Taylor PHINNEY (Trek-Livestrong)
9 Andy GUPTILL (Jamis/SutterHome presented by C
10 Craig LEWIS (HTC-Columbia)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC