Transfer News: Landbouwkrediet signs four, renews with others
  May 21, 2019 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Friday, October 1, 2010

Transfer News: Landbouwkrediet signs four, renews with others

by Ben Atkins at 5:32 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Sven Nys' team begins to confirm its team for 2011

sven nysBelgian Professional Continental team Landbouwkrediet, best known as the team of Belgian cyclocross champion Sven Nys, has announced the signing of four new riders for 2011 as well as contract renewals of others. The team, whose sponsor is also known as Credit Agricole in the French-speaking Walloon part of Belgium (although it is unrelated to the French bank which sponsored a cycling team for many years), concentrates most of its resources on Belgian races and, of course, cyclocross.

All four of the new riders signed, all are 23 years old or younger.

19-year-old Jonathan Breyne signs from the Continental Qin Cycling Team, and is a previous Belgian junior time trial champion; he will continue to ride on the track, while developing his road racing skills. 23-year-old Edwig Cammaerts joins the team after two years at Continental Lotto-Bodysol, his best result this season was tenth place in Paris-Brussels.

The other two new signings are Egidijus Juodvalkis and Aidis Kruopis, both Lithuanian, and both from Palmans-Cras. Juodvalkis was 20th in today’s under-23 World Championship road race, while Kruopis won two races this season: the 1.2-ranked Dwars door de Antwerpse Kempen and the 1.1-ranked Schaal Sels-Merksem.

Davy Commeyne, who resurrected his professional career this year after two year’s in the amateur ranks, has extended his stay with the team for another year. The 30-year-old achieved a number of good results in his first year back, including eighth in Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne; Keert Verheyen also renewed for a further year.

Some of the team's riders have been confirmed as leaving at the end of the season, while six riders are yet to confirm either way.

Existing riders staying (Belgian unless stated):
Frédéric Amorison
Koen Barbé
Davy Commeyne
Bert De Waele
Hans Dekkers (Ned)
Sébastien Delfosse
Benjamin Gourgue
Sven Nys
Baptiste Planckaert
Bert Scheirlinckx
Geert Verheyen

New riders for 2011:
Jonathan Breyne
Edwig Cammaerts
Egidijus Juodvalkis (Ltu)
Aidis Kruopis (Ltu)


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC