Former junior Paris-Roubaix winner Fenn and talented Irishman Lavery sign for An Post Sean Kelly team
  March 05, 2024 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Former junior Paris-Roubaix winner Fenn and talented Irishman Lavery sign for An Post Sean Kelly team

by VeloNation Press at 4:49 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
Total of nine additions for 2011

Philip LaveryThe An Post Grant Thornton M. Donnelly Sean Kelly team has announced the signing of two promising young riders. The first of those is the 2008 junior Paris-Roubaix winner Andrew Fenn, who this year won the British national under 23 road race title as a second year senior, while the second is the determined Irishman Philip Lavery.

“Fenn is a high quality addition to the team. Anybody who wins the Paris-Roubaix as a junior has serious potential and we are delighted he has signed for us,” said team manager Kurt Bogaerts. “He is one for the future and it’s great that we can be part of his development.”

Aside from the Paris-Roubaix result, Fenn highlighted his talent in 2008 when he won European junior track titles in the individual pursuit and team pursuit.

Lavery is also 20 years of age and recently completed a stagiaire trial with the Irish-sponsored, Belgium-based team. He was a solid 24th overall in the Tour of Britain and also rode solidly in several other professional events. Earlier this year. He won races in Wervik, Ramsdonk and Lanskouter while competing with the Look Cycling Academy in Belgium.

“Lavery is a great addition,” said Bogaerts. “This season he showed us how hungry he was to ride for the team and of course he has massive potential. We look forward to having him for a full season next year.”

The team has also confirmed the additions of six others, namely the Lituanians Gediminas Bagdonas and Darijus Dzervus, as well as the Belgians Kenny Terweduwe, Kess Heytens, Kevin Claeys and Dries Hollanders. They, Fenn and Lavery join the previously-announced Irishman Sam Bennett as the new signings.

“The two guys from Lithuania have a great track history and have 16 wins between them from last season, so again we are happy to have them on board,” Bogaerts continued. “The Belgian quartet are all young and ambitious, so I expect them to do well. (Kevin) Claeys, is a very quick sprinter, which is something we wanted to add to the team. Overall I’m really excited for 2011.”

There are a number of others leaving the team, including multiple Irish road race champion David O’Loughlin. “David was great for us, he always took his career seriously and his results proved that,” said Bogaerts. “The younger riders also learnt a lot from him. I’m not sure what his plan is for next season yet but I wish him the best.”

Also departing are Matt Brammeier, who is moving to HTC Highroad, as well as Kim Borry, Stijn Minne, Gil Suray, Kenny Lisabeth and Benny Deschrooder.

Former world number one Sean Kelly also has a management role with the team and gives tactical advice and guidance to the riders. His name opens many doors for the team, and ensures that the Continental squad gets invites to top races such as the Tour of Belgium and Tour of Britain.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC