Riis Cycling Introduces 2009 Team in Denmark
  April 20, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Monday, December 1, 2008

Riis Cycling Introduces 2009 Team in Denmark

by VeloNation Press at 5:14 PM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling
With 28 riders, sky-high ambitions and backed by a solid Danish company Riis Cycling's 2009 team was presented in Vedbaek earlier today. However the day took an unexpected turn as the news of IT Factory gone bust became a reality.

”Today's presentation was unusual as it turned out that IT Factory - our new main sponsor - has got problems meaning we probably wont be seeing their name on our clothes in future. We're already working on several different alternatives and hopefully we'll soon see another name occupying the vacant spot in stead.

We're about to embark on a new exciting season and there should be no doubt as to our ambitions. This is a new beginning for us but with a solid foundation already laid from all the positive initiatives of the past – both concerning the fight against doping as well as in the way we provide the riders with the opportunity to become a part of a truly unique team,” says Riis.

”I think these guys have the absolute highest potential in the history of the team and with these riders in mind it's pretty clear that we're in the middle of generation switch. This is only possible because both riders and staff have a fantastic know-how and a will to work together in the right way. We consider ourselves to be a flag-ship within professional cycling sport and we look forward to getting out there and proving our point,” continues Riis, who will soon be presenting a brand new visual identity in the shape of cycling clothes and bikes – both of which will be seen in competition for the first time, when the season kicks off in Australia at the beginning of 2009.

The team:
Lars Bak, Denmark
Frank Høj, Denmark
Jens Voigt, Germany
Jason McCartney, USA
Anders Lund, Denmark
Gustav Larsson, Sweden
Matti Breschel, Denmark
Nicki Sørensen, Denmark
Jakob Fuglsang, Denmark
Alex Rasmussen, Denmark
Michael Mørkøv, Denmark
André Steensen, Denmark
Lasse Bøchmann, Denmark
Dominic Klemme, Germany
Matthew Goss, Australia
Andy Schleck, Luxembourg
Kurt-Asle Arvesen, Norway
Fränk Schleck, Luxembourg
Alexandr Kolobnev, Russia
Marcus Ljungqvist, Sweden
Stuart O'Grady, Australia
Jurgen Van Goolen, Belgium
Juan José Haedo, Argentina
Karsten Kroon, Netherlands
Kasper Klostergaard, Denmark
Chris Anker Sørensen, Denmark
Jonathan Bellis, Great Britain
Fabian Cancellara, Switzerland

Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC