An Post Sean Kelly team aiming for more aggressive racing in Tour of Oman
  April 26, 2018 Login  

Current Articles    |   Archives    |   RSS Feeds    |   Search

Monday, February 14, 2011

An Post Sean Kelly team aiming for more aggressive racing in Tour of Oman

by Shane Stokes at 11:15 AM EST   comments
Categories: Pro Cycling, Tour of Oman
Continental squad competing well with bigger teams

Niko EeckhoutFollowing an aggressive showing in the Tour of Qatar, where riders such as Niko Eeckhout and Gediminas Bagdonas were in long distance breakaways and the Continental squad generally punched above its weight, the An Post Grant Thornton M. Donnelly Sean Kelly team will line out in the Tour of Oman tomorrow.

General manager Kurt Bogaerts said that he was pleased with how the riders performed and wants more of the same. “Last week we showed that we are capable of racing with the top teams against the top guys, so it has given everyone a massive boost,” he said. “We were involved in many big breaks and the main action almost every day. I really believe all we need is a little more luck to get the big result we deserve.”

The 40 year old former Belgian champion Eeckhout will once again lead the team. He will be joined by the young Irish riders Sam Bennett and Mark Cassidy, the Britons Mark McNally and Andy Fenn, plus the Belgian trio of Kevin Claeys, Maxim De Busschere and Pieter Ghyllebert.

“I’m really proud of the effort the team put in Qatar and I am looking for the same in Oman,” said Bogaerts. “If I get the same commitment, we will go close to reaching our targets.”

Many of the sport’s top teams will take part in the event, which is held in the same region as the Tour of Qatar, but over much tougher terrain. There are several climbs and also a time trial. World TT champion Fabian Cancellara triumphed last year, but the Leopard Trek rider has said that he believes this year’s route may be too tough for his characteristics.


Subscribe via RSS or daily email

  Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy  Copyright 2008-2013 by VeloNation LLC